UW Research

The Shaw Prize

The Shaw Prize honors individuals, regardless of race, nationality, gender and religious belief, who have recently achieved significant breakthrough in academic and scientific research or applications and whose work has resulted in a positive and profound impact on mankind. The Shaw Prize consists of three annual prizes: Astronomy, Life Science and Medicine, and Mathematical Sciences.

  • 2018 – Mary-Claire King, Genome Sciences
  • 2015 – Peter E. Greenberg, Microbiology