UW Research

American Philosophical Society

The American Philosophical Society, the oldest learned society in the United States, was founded in 1743 by Benjamin Franklin for the purpose of promoting useful knowledge in the belief that intellectual inquiry and critical thought are inherently in the best interest of the public.

  • 2012 – Mary-Claire King, Genome Sciences and Medicine
  • 2005 – Maynard V. Olson, Medicine and Genome Sciences
  • 2003 – Arno G. Motulsky, Medicine and Genome Sciences (deceased)
  • 2000 – Leroy Hood, Genome Sciences, Bioengineering and Immunology (former faculty)
  • 2000 – Estella Leopold, Biology