UW Research

National Medal of Science

The National Medal of Science was established by the 86th Congress in 1959 as a Presidential Award to be given to individuals “deserving of special recognition by reason of their outstanding contributions to knowledge in the physical, biological, mathematical, or engineering sciences.” In 1980 Congress expanded this recognition to include the social and behavioral sciences.

  • 2016 – Mary-Claire King, Genome Sciences and Medicine
  • 2001 – Ernest Davidson, Chemistry (former faculty)
  • 1996 – Richard Karp, Computer Science & Engineering (former faculty)
  • 1995 – Hans Georg Dehmelt, Physics (deceased)
  • 1990 – E. Donnall Thomas, Medicine (deceased)
  • 1987 – Michael Freedman, Mathematics (former faculty)