UW Research

October 29, 2020

Three UW Faculty Members Elected to National Academy of Medicine

The National Academy of Medicine on Monday announced the election of 100 new members, including three from the University of Washington. Election to the Academy is considered one of the highest honors in the fields of health and medicine and recognizes individuals who have demonstrated outstanding professional achievement and commitment to service.

The newly elected members from the UW are Patrick Heagerty, professor of biostatistics, School of Public Health; Dr. Joel Kaufman, professor of environmental and occupational health sciences and epidemiology in the School of Public Health and of general internal medicine in the UW School of Medicine; and Sean Sullivan, dean and professor of the UW School of Pharmacy and professor of health services in the School of Public Health. In addition, David Eaton, dean and vice provost emeritus of the UW’s Graduate School, was recognized for outstanding service.

“Recognitions such as these from the National Academy of Medicine highlight the excellence of our faculty and leadership across the University of Washington,” said Mark Richards, Provost and Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs. “I congratulate our newest members elected to the academy for their demonstrated contributions to the field of health and their ongoing work toward better outcomes for all.”

Read the Full Article on UW News.