UW Research

Ellison Center for Russian, East European and Central Asian Studies (Herbert J. Ellison Center)



The Herbert J. Ellison Center for Russian, East European and Central Asian Studies (REECAS) is a National Resource Center funded by the Title VI Program of the US Department of Education, promoting in-depth interdisciplinary study of all major post-communist subregions – Eastern and Central Europe, the Baltic region, the Caucasus and Central Asia, and Russia – in order to understand the legacies of the imperial and communist past as well as to analyze the emerging institutions and identities that will shape Eurasia’s future.

We offer undergraduate degree tracks within the European Studies Major as well as a Master’s Degree in Russian, East European and Central Asian Studies; we sponsor lectures, conferences and exchanges covering the entirety of East Europe and Central Eurasia; and we sustain a dynamic program of outreach to local schools, colleges and community organizations interested in our region. With over 70 participating UW faculty, the Ellison Center represents a unique intellectual resource for faculty, students and professionals living in the Pacific Northwest and beyond.

Core Services Offered

MAIS – Russian, East European and Central Asian Studies
BA – REECAS Track in European Studies and International Studies
Community Events and Outreach
Workshops for K-14 Educators, Graduate Certificate in Russian, East European and Central
Asian studies and a Minor option for undergraduate degree students


Funding Information

Title VI National Resource Center Grant, Department of Education 2014-2018

Reporting Structure

Resat Kasaba, Director, Jackson School of International Studies

Related UW Entities

College of Arts and Sciences: Department of Anthropology, Department of Comparative Literature, Department of Economics, Department of Education, Department of Geography, Department of Germanics, Department of Linguistics, Department of History, Department of Near Eastern Languages and Civilizations, Department of Scandinavian Studies/Baltic Studies, Department of Political Science
College of Engineering: Department of Human Centered Design and Engineering
College of Built Environments
Evans School of Public Policy & Governance
Foster School of Business: Department of Management and Organization
School of Law
School of Public Health: Department of Epidemiology
College of the Environment: School of Marine Affairs