Phase III Scholars


Group photo of 1996 DO-IT Scholars

Phase III Scholars continue their involvement in DO-IT electronic communications as they prepare to go to college. They communicate with Scholars, Ambassadors, and Mentors via the Internet and participate in DO-IT activities, projects, and internships.

Image of David
David, '96 Scholar

I am 18 years old and I graduated from high school in Washington in 1998. I have Attention Deficit Disorder. I am going to college at Eastern Washington University. I would like to get a degree in Microbiology and eventually a masters in Virology. I am also a Trekie. Throughout the year I have helped with DO-IT exhibits and panels. This summer I'm working at a computer camp for kids which is operated by American Computer Experience. I also won the Seattle Youth Hall of Fame Award in 1998.

Image of Cheri
Cheri, '96 Scholar

Hey there. I am from Iowa. I am a paraplegic as a result of a farm accident when I was one. I am very active in wheelchair track and I plan to attend the University of Arizona in the fall to race and major in molecular and cellular biology. My goals are to someday be a psychiatrist and to race in the Paralympics.

Image of Dan
Daniel, '96 Scholar

I'm 18 years old. I live in Connecticut. In 1990, I was in a bicycle accident in which I hit my head. After an operation to remove a brain tumor, I could do absolutely nothing. Now I can do anything that a normal kid can do except my balance is a little bit off. I love computers. I taught myself programming and I like making programs in Visual Basic. I attend Eastern Connecticut State University. Someday I hope to get a job doing computer programming. This summer I am an Intern at DO-IT in addition to my summer job entering data into the computers at SARAH Inc., Shoreline Employment Service.

Image of Lucas
Lucas, '96 Scholar

I am hard of hearing. I was born in Oregon and have lived there all my life. My dad is a police officer and my mom is a librarian. I have a younger sister who is 13. We have a miniature schnauzer named Satie. I'm 18 years old. Sports are a big part of my life. My favorite is baseball. Others I enjoy are football, basketball, golf, hunting, and tennis. I am an Intern at DO-IT this summer.

Image of Maria
Maria, '96 Scholar

I'm from Maine, born in 1980. I am deaf, profoundly deaf. I graduated from a deaf school known as Model School for the Deaf. I like to play softball and volleyball and to read Harlequin romance books and mysteries. My interests are in mathematics and science and I want to be a veterinarian, doctor, or marine biologist. Even though I am deaf, I must believe that I can do it and try it.

Image of Michael
Michael, '96 Scholar

I am 18 and live in Maine. I'll be a senior this fall. I love computers, music, sports, and anything else fun! I have ADD (Attention Deficit Disorder), which can result in problems in school. Most of my teachers are understanding enough for me to still do well. However, if it weren't for computers, I would not be half as far along as I am now. I appeared in a DO-IT video on designing accessible Web sites. I am an Intern this summer with the DO-IT program.

Image of Rebecca
Rebecca, '96 Scholar

I was born in 1980 in San Diego, California. I've had Cerebral Palsy since birth, affecting my limb motion, hearing, and eyesight. My hobbies include hanging out with my friends, listening to music, writing lyrics, and reading. I think had a better time at the DO-IT summer program than I've had in two years!

Image of Anh
Anh, '96 Scholar

I'm an 18-year-old high school graduate and live in California. I will be attending the University of California at Berkeley. My favorite sport is basketball, and my favorite players are Michael Jordan and Anferee Hardaway. My hobby is collecting magic and basketball cards. I have Larsen Syndrome, which affects the joints in my body. I use an electric wheelchair. Recently, I took the challenge of presenting DO-IT out in the world. I attended the 1998 Intel Conference in Fort Worth, Texas and presented DO-IT to an international audience.

Image of Travis
Travis, '96 Scholar

I am blind. I am 18 years old and live on a farm in Nebraska. When I am at home, I usually help on the farm with feeding our hogs or helping with the irrigation of our corn. I am excited about the Internet and happy that I am getting some experience with it. I am an Intern this summer with DO-IT. In the fall of this year (1998), I will be starting as a freshman at the University of Nebraska in Lincoln. I will major in computer science and possibly minor in accounting or finance.

Image of James
James, '96 Scholar

I'm twenty-one years old. My disability is Cerebral Palsy, which was caused by a medical accident when I was two months old. I have a sister, Tiffani, and a brother, Aaron. I graduated from Poquoson High School. I am considering attending the University of Pittsburgh. I hope to open a business, like a restaurant. My interests are football, television, and mathematics.

Image of Dana
Dana, '96 Scholar

I am from Massachusetts. I like to cruise the 'Net, play soccer, swim, play volleyball, and play my bass. I have ADD (Attention Deficit Disorder) and LD (Learning Disability) which makes it hard for me to write and understand certain things. My best subjects are science, math, and history. My worst subject is English.

Image of Josh
Joshua, '96 Scholar

I use a wheelchair. I am 17 years old and I live in Iowa. I graduated from high school in 1998. My family and I live on a farm. My dad farms and milks cows. My mom helps milk the cows, makes and sells crafts, and substitute teaches at my school. My mom and I have a small nursery business at our home. I have a brother, Jacob, who is 9 and a sister, Jackie, who is 17. They also use wheelchairs. We have Muscular Dystrophy. In my free time I work in my raised garden and my garden pond that I can get up to and feed the fish. I also like to explore the Net and chat. I am going to attend Hawkeye Community College to study horticulture/landscape design. I would like to be a landscape designer or do something with computers.