Phase II Scholars

Group photo of 1997 DO-IT Scholars

Phase II Scholars attended their second Summer Study at the University of Washington in August of 1998. During that session they worked closely with University faculty; in small groups they studied genetics, computer science, and technical communication. Throughout the year they continue to communicate via the Internet and participate in DO-IT activities, projects, and internships.

Image of Andrew
Andrew, '97 Scholar

I have a mobility impairment. I have a weakness and lack of control on my left side, especially my left hand. I am 17 and live in State College, Pennsylvania. I will be a senior for the '98-9 term. I enjoy programming and music, and plan to do research in physics.

Image of Amanda
Amanda, '97 Scholar

I am a paraplegic. I live in Montana and I will be a senior in the 98-9 school year. I enjoy algebra, English, biology, chemistry, and journalism. I like to read, write, and go on the Internet. I also like animals.

Image of Jen
Jennifer, '97 Scholar

My disability is blindness. I graduated in 1998 from a high school in North Dakota. I will attend the University of North Dakota in fall of 1998. My favorite things to do in school are to sing and visit with friends. My favorite things to do for fun are to read, talk on the phone and hang out with friends. My goal is to get a degree in counseling.

Image of Minh
Minh, '97 Scholar

I am a high school senior in Seattle. My disability is Achondroplasia (Little People or Short). Even though I'm 18 years old, my height is only 4'. My hobbies are traveling, watching movies, email, searching the Web for educational information and for personal interest. I also like to chat *smile*. My major interest is medicine.

Image of Trent
Trent, '97 Scholar

Hi. I graduated from high school in Washington in 1998. I'm going to North Seattle Community College in the fall. I enjoy watching and playing sports. I also enjoy video games a lot. I won the Seattle Youth Hall of Fame Award in 1998 which recognizes Seattle area youth for their services, courage, creativity, and enterprise. My disability is seizures.

Image of Brad
Brad, '97 Scholar

I graduated from high school in 1998. I will attend college this fall. I want to be an engineer. One of my hobbies is chess. I use a wheelchair because I broke my neck almost 4 years ago. I still do a lot of things for myself though. I even drive!

Image of Ben
Ben, '97 Scholar

I am a quadriplegic. I live in Washington and graduated from high school in 1998. My hobbies are watching sports, working out, and listening to reggae and classic rock music. I hope to pursue architecture in college.

Image of Justin
Justin, '97 Scholar

Hello, I'm from Florida. I'm blind but it doesn't stop me from taking on new challenges. I will be a senior this fall and will consider attending the University of Washington when I graduate. I love to sing country music using the guitar or keyboards. I hope to find a career that involves both music and computers. Recently, I took on the challenge of presenting DO-IT out in the world. I attended the 1998 Intel Conference in Fort Worth, Texas and presented DO-IT to an international audience.

Image of Michael
Michael, '97 Scholar

I hail from Colorado. I have Spina Bifida and Upper Motor Neuron Dysfunction (a fancy way of saying Cerebral Palsy, not from birth). When I'm not found on my computer (either playing or doing homework), I'm eating, sleeping, playing with my black Labrador Retriever, Rosie, studying Spanish, watching TV, or listening to music.

Image of Alexi
Alexi, '97 Scholar

Hello, I will be a high school senior in Connecticut in the fall of '98. I am profoundly deaf and, to compensate for this extreme hearing loss, I have used a surgically implanted cochlear hearing device since September of '93. My interests are computer games, billiards, basketball, baseball, and any other recreational sports or games.

Image of Karyn
Karyn, '97 Scholar

I am 18 years old and recently graduated from high school in Washington. My learning disability is Dyslexia. My interests are roller blading, playing computer games, talking on chat rooms, playing soccer and basketball. I collect giraffes. I have several hundred of them.

Image of Shakethia
Shakethia, '97 Scholar

Bonjour! I am seventeen years old and going into the twelfth grade. I go to a high school in Mississippi. I am a paraplegic from a gunshot wound and use a wheelchair. Some of the things I like to do in my spare time are watching television, talking on the phone, going to the movies, playing with my computer and listening to music. After I graduate I would like to go to college and major in law or accounting! I am also a major Ken Griffey Jr. fan thanks to Sheryl!

Image of Steven
Steven, '97 Scholar

Hello. I am going to be a senior this year in Connecticut. I have a severe hearing loss. I play soccer for my school. This year I am thinking of trying out for track and field. I love to play all sorts of sports, particularly soccer, basketball, and flag football. I like to listen to music, read some scary books, and play games on computers or boards. I like strategic games. My favorite game is Command and Conquer Red Alert.

Image of Laura
Laura, '97 Scholar

I live near Cleveland, Ohio and I will be a senior for the '98-9 school year. My disability is an ischemic spinal cord injury. My interests include astronomy and biology, and my hobbies include reading, writing and music.

Image of Keaton
Keaton, '97 Scholar

I'm from Alaska and I'm blind. I like anything scientific. It's like candy to me. I eat it up and I can't stop. I am attending Southern Utah University. My hobbies include collecting key chains, listening to music, and talking to people.

Image of Veronica
Veronica, '97 Scholar

I am 17 years old and a senior in high school. I want to go to college to study biology, specializing in genetic engineering or microbiology. My other interests include singing opera, Spanish, and Jazz.

Image of Sharon
Sharon, '97 Scholar

Hello. I have Retnitis Pigmentosa which is a low vision problem. I live in Pendleton, Oregon. I am 18 years old and I'm going to graduate from high school this year. I will attend Blue Mountain Community College. I also enjoy my guide dogs and other animals, football, basketball, gymnastics, bike riding, and just spending time with my family and friends. I enjoy spending time on the Internet looking up things about sports and animals.