Phase II Scholars


Group photo of 1999 DO-IT Scholars

Phase II Scholars attended their second Summer Study at the University of Washington in July of 2000. During that session they worked closely with University faculty; in small groups they studied computer science, how to make science labs more accessible, and Virtual Reality. Throughout the year they continue to communicate via the Internet and participate in DO-IT activities, projects, and internships.

Image of Roy
Roy, '99 Scholar

My name is Roy. I will be attending Grays Harbor College, in Washington, as a freshman this fall. My disability is Duchenne Muscular Dystrophy. I am interested in science, computers, and computer-aided drafting. This summer I was an intern at I designed wheelchair ramps that were built at my high school and church. I am an Eagle Scout and have been class president. I enjoy radio-controlled models and my hovercraft. My future is uncertain, but my hopes are high. DO-IT will help me on my way.

Crystal, '99 Scholar

Hi. My name is Crystal. I'm 17 years old and live in Washington. My disability affects my speech and learning. I'm going to be a senior in high school. I love to run and to participate in FFA (Future Farmers of America), FLOA (Future Leaders of America), and 4-H. I want to study medicine and work with cancer patients someday. I hope DO-IT will help me make my dream come true.

Image of Kathy
Kathy, '99 Scholar

Hey! My name is Kathy and I am 17 years old. I'm going to be a senior in high school in the coming year. My major area of interest is writing. My hobbies are computer games such as solitaire and minesweeper. My career goal is to become a nurse or writer. In DO-IT, I like the different field trips I went on as a Scholar.

Image of Danielle
Danielle, '99 Scholar

My name is Danielle and I'm 18 years old. I'll be attending Wenatchee Valley College in Washington. I'm physically handicapped with hearing and speech impairments. I had cancer when I was 16 months old, and that left me with a viral infection which caused these disabilities. I'm interested in computers and English. My hobbies are reading, writing, and listening to music. I love school, but I don't like homework!

Image of David
David, '99 Scholar

My name is David, I'm 18 years old, and I plan to attend Seattle Central Community College in the fall. I enjoy mathematics, map navigating, and being a referee or a controller of some activity or sport. My area of focus is a specialized monthly dominoes circuit. The DO-IT program has been especially helpful by allowing me to see exactly what college life is like from perspectives I could not obtain by myself, such as living in a dorm or going through Disabled Student Services.

Image of Oscar
Oscar, '99 Scholar

My name is Oscar. I am from Washington state. I am going to be a senior this year in high school. I am interested in science and computers. My disability is quadriplegia. I use a power wheelchair and have voice recognition software so I can use my computer.

Image of JW
J.W., '99 Scholar

My name is J.W., I'm 17, and I'm going into my senior year in high school in Washington state. My main area of interest in school is computer technology. I learned about computers and also how to build Web pages. My hobbies are using the computer, watching sports, and playing video games. I am interested in a career in computer-aided design or video game programming. The thing I like most about DO-IT is that it gives me more of a feel for college life such as living in the dorms.

Image of Buffy
Buffy, '99 Scholar

Hello. My name is Buffy, 18. I will be a freshman in college this fall at Gallaudet University in Washington D.C. I will be majoring in education and a computer field. My hobbies are reading, playing sports, sending e-mail, and participating in outdoor activities. My career goals are to get a masters degree and go back to Oregon, and begin my career there. DO-IT folks, it's okay to fail but it's not okay to give up. Go after your dreams!

Image of Pat
Pat, '99 Scholar

Hi. My name is Pat. I live in Washington state. I'm 19 years old. This year will be my first year in college at Eastern Washington University, where I will be majoring in Liberal Arts. I am also interested in having a computer science networking major. My hobbies are talking on the phone and playing football.

Image of Ryan
Ryan, '99 Scholar

Hi. My name is Ryan. I am 18 and will be a senior high school in Washington. I like industrial engineering classes. My hobbies are mountain biking, playing with my five Labrador Retrievers, and hanging out with friends. I'm a lineman for football and do javelin, discus, and shot-put for track and field. I'm part of the leadership groups for 4H Klassy K9s and Indian Education Program at our school. I also work part time for Industrial Electric in the motor repair shop. My career goals are to go to a four-year college and become an aero/space/nautical or electrical engineer. The three things I learned at DO-IT that helped me at school with my learning disability are organization, setting goals, and self advocacy.

Image of Zach
Zachary, '99 Scholar

Hello. My name is Zachary. I am 17 years old and will be a junior in high school in Washington. I have a very rare genetic syndrome named Freeman Sheldon-Syndrome. This syndrome is also known as the "Whistling Face Syndrome" and characteristically includes a small whistling mouth, a flat mask-like face, club feet, joint contractures usually involving the fingers and hands, and under-development of the cartilage of the nose. I am very interested in computer technology. I also enjoy watching a lot of television shows such as "Buffy." I love to go on the Internet and check my e-mail, and look for pictures of my favorite bands. I like to listen to pop-genre music. My favorite are Mandy Moore, Jessica Simpson, 98 Degrees, BBMak, O-Town, Backstreet Boys, LFO, 'Nsync, and more.

Image of Stuart
Stuart, '99 Scholar

My name is Stuart. I will be attending Seattle Central Community College, in Washington, as a freshman this fall. My disability is Larsen's Syndrome, a mobility impairment. I really like taking computer classes, which I pursue as a major in college. My academic interests are computers and science. In science I like space exploration and discovering new things that help the world to progress. I like cars and computers. My hobby is to collect 1:18 scale cars. I also like professional sports. I like DO-IT because we all work together.

Image of Lacey
Lacey, '99 Scholar

My name is Lacey. I live in Washington. I am 18 years old. I have Cerebral Palsy and some specific learning disabilities. I will be a senior in high school in the fall. For my DO-IT and Junior/Senior project, my friend, Veronica, and I have started our own business making and selling soap. Our business name is Spinning Wheels & Co. We sell our soap at the Fremont Market and we also sell it at a coffee shop in Wallingford. Besides earning money our goal is to help the community interact with disabled people in business. My hobbies are to ride horses, ride my bicycle, collect rocks, and do art.

Image of Nate
Nate, '99 Scholar

Hello. My name is Nate. I am going to be a senior in high school. I live in Washington. I enjoy running and watching television. I have aspirations to go to a four-year university and maybe go on to law school. I believe that DO-IT will give me the training and self-advocacy I will need to go to college and find a career successfully. I have low vision in my right eye.

Image of Wolfgang
Wolfgang, '99 Scholar

My name is Wolfgang. I'm going to be a freshman at the University of Washington this fall, where I hope to study physics and writing. I like to snowboard, bike, play hacky-sack, and READ! I have a learning disability. The DO-IT program has taught me to understand and respect people with other disabilities and also has been amazingly encouraging about my future plans in college!

Image of Kelci
Kelci, '99 Scholar

My name is Kelci, and I am a senior in high school in Washington state. My disability is Cerebral Palsy. I am interested in math and education. I enjoy hanging out with friends and keeping stats for basketball.

Image of Tynesha
Tynesha, '99 Scholar

Hi. My name is Tynesha; I graduated from high school on June 7th, 2000. I live in Washington, and I am 18 years old. My future plans are to attend Seattle Central Community College in the fall to study sign language for four years then transfer to the UW as a junior for three years to get my masters in education. Thereafter I might teach in Japan for a little while or get a job in signing. My hobbies are reading, shopping, talking and hanging out with friends. I also love to write poetry which I hope to one day have my own collection of poems published. One of the greatest things I have come across in my life is DO-IT. The reason I say this is beacause you meet some of the best people you will ever meet in your life and they are always there to help, talk, or just listen.

Image of Ali
Ali, '99 Scholar

My name is Ali. I am from northern Iraq and I am Kurd. I came to the U.S. in 1997 and I live in Washington state. When I was in my country I didn't go to school. When I came to the U.S. I went directly to high school. I went from nothing to a high grade. This year I am going to be in 12th grade. I know four languages: Kurdish, Arabic, Turkish, and English. I have Osteogenesis Imperfecta, a mobility impairment. I am a quick learner. I like math, science, and computers. I plan to go to the University of Washington to study computer science. My hobbies are watching soccer games, working on computers, watching basketball, and reading books. I like DO-IT because it shows me college life and it tells me what I should do to get into a college that I like.