Phase I Scholars

Group photo of 2000 DO-IT Scholars

Twenty-one Phase I Scholars attended their first DO-IT Summer Study sessions at the University of Washington in August of 2000. They learned about college life and participated in college and work preparation activities. Throughout the year, they communicate with each other and other DO-IT participants. They use the Internet to support their academic studies, and they complete projects in exciting fields including science, engineering, mathematics, and technology.

Image of Tasha
Tasha, '00 Scholar

Hi. My name is Tasha and I am 17 years old. I am going to be a senior in high school in Washington state this fall. My favorite hobbies are playing games, shopping, talking on the phone, boys, animals, and collecting cards. My disability is Cerebral Palsy.

Image of Jeff
Jeffrey, '00 Scholar

My name is Jeffrey. I am 16 years old and will be a senior in high school this fall in Washington state. I will graduate in June, 2001. I'm Tyee Sign Language Club President and Co-Editor of DHH (Deaf/Hard of Hearing) newsletter. My favorite sports are bowling, basketball, and baseball. I plan to attend a four-year university. I will study electrical engineering, computer science, computer engineering, or computer-aided drafting technology.

Image of Ryan
Ryan, '00 Scholar

I am Ryan, 16 years old. I live in Washington. I will be a junior in high school this year. I have Cerebal Palsy, and use a walker and an electric wheelchair for school. I love computers and math. I am also beginning to get interested in CADD (Computer Aided Drafting Design). I hope to go to college also. My hobbies include the Internet, fixing/working on computers, video games, role-playing, swimming, and launching rockets.

Image of Raleigh
Raleigh, '00 Scholar

My name is Raleigh. I'm 17 years of age. I'm a senior in high school in Washington state. My hobbies are playing basketball and football, and singing in my school choir, in my church, and in the community. I draw, build and mold, and dance. I want to go to college and major in voice or vocal performance and music literature. My goal is to become a professional singer. My disability is a learning disability. DO-IT really helped me out because I thought that my disability couldn't be helped but DO-IT really showed me the light and opened the doors for me.

Image of Nora
Nora, '00 Scholar

My name is Nora and I will be a senior in high school in Oregon this year. I have been using a computer most of my life. I have Cerebal Palsy. It affects my lower body and to some extent my hands. I enjoy swimming playing guitar and leaning new things.

Image of Israel
Israel, '00 Scholar

Hi. My name is Israel. I live in Washington state. I am 18 years old. I will be attending high school for my 11th grade year. I am blind. I like to use computers, ride bikes, play guitar, hang out with friends, and listen to music. My favorite music is Softrock. I used to live in Mexico, but I moved to America four years ago.

Image of Brian
Brian, '00 Scholar

Hello, my name is Brian. I am 17 years old. I am a Virgo (B-Day Sept. 21, 1982) and will be a senior in Washington state this year. My hobbies include videogames and hanging out with my friends.

Image of Ben
Ben, '00 Scholar

Hi. My name is Ben. I am a junior in high school in Washington State. My favorite classes are woodshop and history. My future plans are to attend college and become a lawyer. I enjoy sports and play both football and basketball. I have served as a senator in my school's student leadership program. I participate in Young Life and my church youth group. I have a language learning disability and have really benefitted from using a computer for my school assignments. I am looking forward to being a part of DO-IT.

Image of Jamie
Jamie, '00 Scholar

Hi. My name is Jamie. I am 16 years old and am going to be a junior in high school in Washington state. My disability is Cerebral Palsy. My favorite class is physical education. I plan to attend Washington State University. I plan to study something in the medical field. My hobbies include playing softball, hanging out with friends, and riding horses.

Image of Corinna
Corinna, '00 Scholar

Hi. My name is Corinna. I am 19 years old. I am a junior in high school. I am a volunteer for a baseball team. I want to go to college to become an advocate. I have Cerebral Palsy.

Image of Kasey
Kasey, '00 Scholar

Hi. I am Kasey and I am 17 years of age. I will be in the 11th grade high school in Washington state. My favorite classes are history and science. My hobbies are playing high school football, basketball, running, and participating in the ASB club. I am planning on attending a university, where I would major in psychology and early childhood development, and getting a medical degree in psychology. I spend much of my time working, and doing odd jobs for my neighbors in my neighborhood.

Image of Deke
Deke, '00 Scholar

My name is Deke. I go to Lake Chelan high school in Washington state. I am currently in 11th grade. I will be attending the skills center next year to work with computers. I went to Switzerland last January for two weeks. I was snowboarding most of that time. I have been snowboarding for five years. I have been going to snowboard camp for three years. I enjoy all kinds of modern music (except country). I have been working with computers for eight years now. I am planning on going to a communty college before I go to a four-year university. I want to be a high school computer teacher.

Image of Stephanie
Stephanie, '00 Scholar

My name is Stephanie. I am 16 years old. I am visually impaired. I will be entering the eleventh grade in high school in Washington. I plan to go to Eastern Washington University and would like to be a math teacher or grade school teacher. I love computers-well, most of the time. I like to listen to most types of music. I love to swim, ride bikes, and ride horses.

Image of Nick
Nick, '00 Scholar

Hello! My name is Nick. I am 17 and will be a Junior in high school in Washington. I plan to study food science and then enter the Hotel/Restaurant/Resort Services Industry. As you might guess, I love eating all kinds of food, with emphasis on noodles (Italian, Thai, Chinese, any kind at all) and spices (chili, pesto, zahtar, etc.). For the last six summers I attended Camp Casey on Whidbey Island. I am an avid Mariners fan, and I am also a Spencer mystery book fan. My very uncuddly pet is our hedgehog Nettles. I enjoy shooting pool and bowling. I am also an N64 addict. I plan on improving my computer skills through DO-IT's assistive technology and learning more about how to get through college.

Image of Nathan
Nathan, '00 Scholar

Hello. I am Nathan. I live in Washington. I am a Boy Scout. My favorite academic subjects are science, history, and technology. I am going to a home school resource center. There I can access computers and the Internet. No, none of my "classes" are on the Internet. I am home-schooled there and my mother is my primary teacher. I take one class each trimester at high school. I have been taking the Computer Aided Drafting course there. I enjoy bike riding. I have been on the DO-IT Pals list for about a year. I have Dyslexia.

Image of Nohemi
Nohemi, '00 Scholar

Hi. My name is Nohemi. I'm 18 years old. I come from Washington. I'll be a senior in high school. I'll be studying computer programming. My disability is Cerebral Palsy, I like to play soccer, play with my computer, and write letters to my special singer Celine Dion. Well, I will give you an idea of what I look like - I'm not tall enough, I'm a little pretty and very friendly.

Image of Crystal
Crystal, '00 Scholar

Hello. This is Crys and I am 15 years of age. I'm a junior in high school in Washington state. My disability is something that I was born with-I'm hearing impaired. I love volleyball, basketball, drumming, horseback riding, and drawing. I have been a sport player for three years. I have been drumming for six years and have been on the drumset for three years. I finished my fifth portrait in drawing last month! I plan to go to Spokane Community College, then transfer to Stanford in California. I dream to become a teacher for the handicapped.

Image of Susanna
Susanna, '00 Scholar

Hi. My name is Susanna and this is my first year in DO-IT. I'm 16 and will be in 11th grade in high school in Washington. My favorite classes are math, science, Spanish. My hobbies are reading, swimming, and playing on my computer. I have four dogs and love them all. I ref soccer games. My career goals are to go to the University of Washington and be a computer wiz.

Image of Gretchen
Gretchen, '00 Scholar

Hi. My name is Gretchen. I am 17 years old. I will be a senior in high school in Washington state this year. I am interested in science, specifically medical/biology, athletic health. My hobbies are: avid mountain biker, volunteer youthleader at the Y, rockclimb leader. I am outdoorsy with a knack for laughing and having fun with friends. I work part-time and enjoy school immensely. I am a volunteer firefighter with my career aspiration of completing college with a doctorate in medicine and education. I am concentrating on becoming a paramedic or a rescue technician. I have a bilateral profound hearing loss.