Phase I Scholars

Group photo of 2005 Scholars

Twenty Phase I Scholars attended their first DO-IT Summer Study session at the University of Washington in August of 2005. They learned about college life and prepared for college and careers. Throughout the year, they communicate with each other as well as DO-IT participants and DO-IT Mentors. They use the Internet to support their academic studies, and they complete projects in exciting fields that include science, engineering, mathematics, technology, and business.

Image of Dulce
Dulce, '05 Scholar

Hi, my name is Dulce. I am going to be a senior this fall. My favorite classes are math and reading, and I plan to become a computer support specialist. I'm originally from Mexico, but moved here 4 years ago and now know how to speak both Spanish and English. Soccer is my favorite sport; I used to play in Mexico. I also play basketball and last year I went to Arizona to compete and won an award from my coach. I love to listen to music, chat with friends and family, and read and write poetry. I am deaf and also have cerebral palsy, which affects my mobility.

Image of Shavonne
Shavonne, '05 Scholar

My name is Shavonne. I'm 16 years old and was born with spina bifida. I'll be starting my junior year in high school. My younger sister has been a big support for me as I've struggled to be a normal teenager. I'm an active member of my community and school, and I belong to DECA as well as the Justice and Peace Club. I also volunteer to work with pets to prevent overpopulation. This year I will be my school's football team manager and I plan to earn a school letter. I dream of going to the University of Washington and becoming a podiatrist.

Image of Jen
Jennifer, '05 Scholar

Hi, my name is Jennifer. I am 18 and have Cerebral Palsy. I am going to be a junior in high school this fall. I am involved with choir at school. I like to spend time with family and friends. I love to go shopping and hang out with my grandma. My plans are to attend a local college, get my A.A. degree, then pursue a career in the computer technology field. I am hoping my experiences with DO-IT will help me explore other options and tools that I can use to better my future.

Image of Kayla
Kayla, '05 Scholar

Hello. My name is Kayla. I'm 17 years old and will be a senior in high school in the fall. My favorite classes are English, French, and psychology. I will also be attending a Running Start program. At school I am involved with FCCLA (Family, Career, and Community Leaders of America). Outside of school I love to paint, read, walk my dogs, shop, and go to Sonics games. My career goal is to become a psychologist. I really want to go to the University of Washington. My disability is Central Core Disease (Muscular Dystrophy). I hope that the DO-IT program can help me become more independent.

Image of Daren
Daren, '05 Scholar

Hi, my name is Daren and I have Dyslexia. I will be a junior in high school this fall. I also attend Community College. When I graduate I will have both my high school diploma and an Associates Degree in science. I plan to go on to a 4-year college and major in biochemistry and perhaps obtain my Ph.D. at the University of Washington. I like sports such as swimming and track. I also enjoy putting together puzzles.

Image of Bella
Bella, '05 Scholar

Hi everyone! My name is Bella and I have Cerebral Palsy which affects most of my muscles including my eyes. So I use quad canes, a bugsy walker (only for aerobic exercise), or a wheelchair, and I need visual materials to be enlarged for me to read. I go to high school and will be in the 11th grade next year. Art, language arts, and drama are my three favorite classes, but I also like biology and math. My hobbies include babysitting, acting, reading, playing with my dogs, playing the piano and walking my dogs. I'm part of a Public Theater summer youth program. I acted in a play called "His Dark Materials" this July. My career goals are to be a teacher and an artist. I'd also like to help out in a day care because I love kids. I'm interested in going to community college.

Image of Zach
Zachary, '05 Scholar

I'm Zach and I'm in the 11th grade. My favorite classes are math and weight lifting. I play football and wrestle for my high school. Outside of school, I like to work out and hang out with my friends. I am interested in a career as a firefighter and would like to study fire science in college. I plan to go to a community college or the University of Washington. The disability I have is Dysgraphia which means that I have trouble writing. I'm hoping that in DO-IT I can access technology that will assist me with writing.

Image of Marlen
Marlen, '05 Scholar

Hey, my name is Marlen, and I have a learning disability that affects my spelling, grammar, reading, and math. I am going to be a junior this fall. My favorite subject is science and I would like to be a biologist or a dentist. I enjoy swimming in the middle of the night and going to Mount Constitution. I also love all music (with the exception of country)!

Image of Logan
Logan, '05 Scholar

Hi, my name is Logan. I will be a senior this fall. I can't wait to get into the real world! One of my favorite classes is weight lifting. There's just something about being in a weight room that makes me feel good as a person. As for school activities, I'm on the power lifting team for my high school. I was one of the ten power lifters who were invited to state from my school. I'm the second strongest male in the state for my weight category and the first paraplegic with Cerebral Palsy to compete. Some of my hobbies include playing my bass guitar, working out, and having a good time with friends. In college I plan to either go into the networking or the digital animation field. I hope that DO-IT can help me achieve my college and career goals by allowing me to gain experience in my fields of interest and helping me get a feel for how life will be once I have achieved those goals.

Image of Andrew
Andrew, '05 Scholar

Hi, my name is Andrew and I am going to be a junior this fall. My favorite classes are math, drama, and language arts, and I am involved in Inner City Outings (ICO), school plays, and sports as well as community service. I enjoy hanging out with my friends and playing soccer. I am interested in going to the UW and would like to study law, Spanish, and acting. I hope to be a bilingual lawyer, actor and poet someday. I started a job this summer at a specialty grocery store that I really enjoy as I am very social and like to be around all types of people. I have Tourette's Syndrome and just recently learned that I may also have Asperger's Syndrome. I hope that my experience with DO-IT will help me become more comfortable with my disabilities.

Image of Nate
Nate, '05 Scholar

Hello, my name is Nate. I will be a senior this fall. My favorite subjects are history and language arts. I like hanging out with friends and family. My learning disability has been a challenge, however this year I took Spanish and passed it. I knew that I needed a second language to go to college. I would like to attend the University of Washington and get a degree in business and then pursue a career in real estate. What I hope to gain from the DO-IT program is more strength to help me with my learning disability.

Image of Jesse
Jesse, '05 Scholar

My name is Jesse. I'm going into the 12th grade, and my favorite class is chemistry. I used to run track and I am thinking about doing some work with the choir and the drama club. Outside of school I enjoy spending time with my friends or just hanging out at home. I am interested in pursuing a career as a forensic scientist. In college I would like to learn about genetics and maybe entomology. I am hoping to attend the University of Washington or Seattle Pacific University. My disability is Asperger's Syndrome and I feel that I don't need any academic help, although my social skills could use some improvement.

Image of Noah
Noah, '05 Scholar

My name is Noah. I am 16 years old and go to high school. My favorite classes are social studies, world religion, government, and math. At school I am in link crew and croquet club. Last year I was also involved in student government. Outside of school I listen to a lot of music and go to concerts. I enjoy playing video games and basketball. I watch lots of sports on TV and know many sports facts and information. My disability is Cerebral Palsy. I hope DO-IT will help me get ready for college and living on my own as well as meet new people.

Image of Sakina
Sakina, '05 Scholar

Hi, I'm Sakina. I am going to be a junior this fall. My favorite class is Leadership, and I like music and history. I have a learning disability that impacts my reading, writing, and spelling. I like to shop and support my high school teams; football and basketball games are my favorite because I like to socialize. I'm a pretty cool person!

Image of Kayla
Kayla, '05 Scholar

My name is Kayla, and my disability is Cerebral Palsy. I currently attend high school, where I will be a junior this fall. I enjoy computers, listening to music, and watching movies. My favorite subject in school is English. My career goal is to work with computers. I'd like to attend the University of Washington.

Image of Jesse
Jessie, '05 Scholar

Hey, my name is Jessie. I'm a senior in high school. My favorite subject is math because it's challenging. I also like hanging out at lunch and socializing with my friends. I enjoy chatting online, sending email, playing games, and talking on the phone. In case you hadn't noticed already, I love to communicate and have a good sense of humor. Feel free to email me anytime. I enjoy DO-IT because of the variety of different disabilities I get exposed to and the people I get to know.

Image of Daman
Daman, '05 Scholar

Hi, my name is Daman and I will be a junior in secondary school this fall. I plan to go to the University of Washington and would like a career as an architect or a computer engineer when I graduate. I have Cerebral Palsy and am a webmaster for many organizations, including the United Cerebral Palsy of South Puget Sound. I have also been a keynote speaker at fundraising events and parent support groups.

Image of Cassie
Cassandra, '05 Scholar

Hi, my name is Cassie. I was born with Spina Bifida. I am 17 years old and will be a senior in high school. I am involved in a club called Multi-Cultural Student Union. I also play tennis on my school team. Outside of school, I swim and play games online. My career goal is to become a computer programmer. This year I have been on four MESA (Math, Engineering, and Science Achievement) trips because we do not have a class for juniors or seniors. I got to go to Avista, Itron, Deaconess, and out to the State Patrol Crime Lab. This year a film crew came out from ESPN to film me because I play tennis in my wheelchair on my school team. I look forward to participating in DO-IT this year.