'06 Ambassadors


Group photo of 2006 Scholars

DO-IT Ambassadors are pursuing postsecondary studies and careers. They share their experiences with DO-IT Scholars and Pals, encouraging them to pursue their goals in college and employment.

Image of Brandon
Brandon, '06 Scholar

Hi. I'm Brandon. I will be starting my third year at Rochester Institute of Technology where I plan on earning a bachelor's degree in mechanical engineering. I enjoy math, science, and computer-aided design, which is architectural and engineering design software. I am hard of hearing and have attention deficit hyperactivity disorder (ADHD), which makes it hard to concentrate. I also have dysgraphia, which makes it difficult for me to write. I do very well on a computer. I like to play video games, design things on the computer, and hang out with friends.

Image of Brittany
Brittany, '06 Scholar

Hi. I'm Brittany. I will be a junior at Rochester Institute of Technology where I am majoring in clinical psychology. I enjoy the study of criminology (which is my minor), researching topics of interest to me, and analyzing different types of art forms (such as film or books). I am hard of hearing and also have mild cerebral palsy (CP). I have a neurological disorder called mitochondrial disease, which, coupled with CP, can be very draining and tiring. I enjoy reading, playing video games, browsing the Internet, and spending time with animals and friends.

Image of Ryan
Ryan, '06 Scholar

Hi. My name is Ryan. I have a mobility impairment and get around in a power wheelchair. I am continuing my career as a DJ.

Image of Alex
Alex, '06 Scholar

Hi! I'm Alex and I am studying library sciences at Highline Community College. I plan to attend Central Washington University in the fall. I have Turner syndrome and a nonverbal learning disorder. I like listening to music and playing on my computer in my spare time. I love working at the library and going to school. DO-IT has been a great help to me.

Image of Jenny
Jenny, '06 Scholar

Hi. My name is Jenny. I live in Kennewick, WA. I plan to be a physical therapist or work with children.

Image of Maria
Maria, '06 Scholar

Hey everybody! It's me, Maria. I will be a junior at Western Washington University in Bellingham. I love Western! I started a new club on campus called Student Coalition for Immigration Rights (SCIR). In SCIR, we are dedicated to bringing awareness to the community about the struggles of U.S. immigrants. Our goal is to help them obtain a higher education and build a better future through workshops and community involvement. I will continue my work with people and advocate for their rights through my double major: law, diversity, and justice concentration and Spanish. I plan to go to law school and be an immigration lawyer.

Image of Daniel
Daniel, '06 Scholar

Hi. My name is Daniel. I will be a junior at the University of Washington where I may study engineering. I have only one finger on each hand, but this does not stop me from doing anything. I enjoy math; playing the trombone, soccer, and basketball; making movies; and hanging out with my friends. DO-IT has been a good experience for me, and I think I will continue to learn a lot from it.

Image of Oscar
Oscar, '06 Scholar

Hello. My name is Oscar. I will be a junior at George Fox University in Oregon. I plan to study political science and music.

Image of Jennifer
Jennifer, '06 Scholar

Hi. I'm Jennifer. I attend Green River Community College. I hope to transfer to a four-year college to study psychology. In my free time I like to listen to music, explore the Internet, play on my computer, and hang out with friends.

Image of Jesus
Jesus, '06 Scholar

My name is Jesus. I'm from Mexico and I speak three languages: Purepecha, Spanish, and English. I'm attending Renton Technical College to study computers and network technologies. I plan to get an associate's degree and transfer to a university. I enjoy technology, and I see my future working in the field of computers. Music is my biggest passion. I like to listen to most kinds of music, but my four favorites are ballads, country, cumbias, and nortea romantica music. Some day I will have those four styles with my own songs. I would like to combine my love for music with technology.

Image of Joey
Joey, '06 Scholar

Hi. My name is Joey. I have Duchenne muscular dystrophy and use a wheelchair to get around. I have a service dog named Brigs who goes most places with me. I attend Cascadia Community College. I participated in a language immersion program in Costa Rica last summer. I like reading and playing video games. Someday I would like to start a program similar to DO-IT to work with students with disabilities.

Image of KJ
K.J., '06 Scholar

Hi. I'm K.J. from Mt. Vernon, WA. I have a learning disability. I am a student at Skagit Valley College. I hope to become a meteorologist. I have been interested in weather my whole life. I once saw a funnel cloud almost touch down when I lived on Camano Island, which was pretty cool. I enjoy drawing maps, comics, and traveling.

Image of Tony
Tony, '06 Scholar

Hi. I'm Tony. I will be a junior at the University of Idaho in the fall. I have dyslexia. I love sports, especially skiing. I have been involved in track and cross-country running. One of my favorite things to do is just hang out, but, unfortunately, I rarely have the time.

Image of Taylor
Taylor, '06 Scholar

Hi. My name is Taylor, and I will be a junior at the University of Idaho. I have Asperger's syndrome, which makes it difficult to interact with people. I enjoy geography and math.

Image of Amrit
Amrit, '06 Scholar

Hi. My name is Amrit. I have attention deficit disorder (ADD). I will be a junior at Haverford College (outside of Philadelphia) in the fall. I love playing jazz piano and listening to NPR's the Swing Years and Beyond radio music program. I'm glad to be part of DO-IT because it offers me connections that will help me in my future. I did an internship at the Department of Defense this summer.

Image of Gabe
Gabe, '06 Scholar

Hi. My name is Gabe. I will be a junior at the University of Washington. I would like to become a history teacher. I enjoy music, English, and history. I am missing the radius and ulna in both arms and the fibia and femur are fused together in both my legs, so basically I cannot straighten them. I am also 45% deaf. I have been featured in many news and television shows over the past five years. DO-IT has helped me advocate for myself and increase my communication skills with professors and other people in general.

Image of Zachary
Zachary, '06 Scholar

Hi. I'm Zachary. I attend Bellevue College. I have cerebral palsy, and sometimes my body does not respond the way I want it to and my motor skills do not always work as well as I would like. I enjoy history and mathematics. In college I am studying teaching and hopefully one day will become a sixth grade math teacher. I also like to read and play video games.

Image of Sam
Sam, '06 Scholar

Hi. I'm Sam. I graduated from Shoreline Community College. I would like to become a therapeutic riding instructor. Horseback riding has been my hobby for many years. I am an active Eagle Scout with several Palms. I am in the Sea Scout program in the Mount Baker Council, and I volunteer at the Seattle Marathon every year. I also love to travel. DO-IT has given me a support system for help when I need it.

Image of Kaitlin
Kaitlin, '06 Scholar

Hi. My name is Kaitlin, but everyone calls me Katie. I attend Washington State University and am studying accounting. I am focusing on my education, with my parents happily paying for my bachelor's degree. I like anime and playing video games. My strongest suit is math.

Image of Nicole
Nicole, '06 Scholar

Hi. My name is Nicole. I lost my sight when I was four, and I am also partially hearing impaired. Last summer, I was an intern on the accessibility team at Microsoft. This summer, I will be a research intern in the University of Washington's computer science department. In the fall, I will return to Stanford University as a junior. My major is computer science. I have a guide dog named Lexia; she is a female black lab and my first guide dog. Some of my favorite activities include listening to music, programming computers, playing computer games, and riding horses.