Phase II Scholars


Group photo of 1996 DO-IT Scholars

Phase II Scholars attended their second summer study at the University of Washington in August of 1997. During that session they worked closely with University faculty; in small groups they studied genetics, computer science, and technical communication. Throughout the year they continue to communicate via the Internet and participate in DO-IT activities, projects, and internships.

Image of David

My name is David. I am 17 and in the 12th grade at Rainier Beach in Washington. I have Attention Deficit Disorder. I want to go to college and get a degree in Microbiology and eventually a masters in Virology. I am also a Trekke.

Image of Cheri

Hey there. My name is Cheri and I am from Iowa. I am a paraplegic as a result of a farm accident when I was one. I am very active in wheelchair track and basketball. I will be a senior this year. I plan to attend the Univeristy of Illinois to participate in sports and study biology.

Image of Dan

My name is Daniel and I'm 17 years old. I live in Connecticut and I just completed my junior year at the Morgan High School. In 1990, I was in a bicycle accident in which I hit my head. After an operation to remove a brain tumor, I could do absolutely nothing but now I can do anything that a normal kid can do except my balance is a little bit off. I love computers. I taught myself programming and I like making programs in Visual Basic. Someday I hope to get a job doing computer programming.

Image of David

My name is David and I am an 18 year old graduate of La Grande High School in Oregon. I will attend Eastern Oregon State College in this fall. As far as my disability goes, I am Albino. My particular condition is what most call "full" Albinism, which includes lack of pigment in the hair, skin, and eyes. Consequently, I am extremely sensitive to light and burn easily in the sun. I also have a vision loss which came in the Albinism packet; I have the approximate acuity of 20/200, which can make life interesting at times. For hobbies, I like computers, camping, hiking, fishing, hunting, and playing video games.

Image of Chris

My name is Chris and I am from North Dakota. I'm 18 years old and I will attend the University of North Dakota this fall. I have had a profound hearing loss since I was born. I hope to work with computers. I spend most of my time surfing the Internet and enjoying the outdoors.

Image of Lucas

My name is Lucas and I am hard of hearing. I was born in Oregon and have lived there all my life. My dad is a police officer and my mom is a librarian. I have a younger sister who is 12. We have a miniature schnauzer named Satie. I'm 17 years old. Sports are a big part of my life. My favorite is baseball. Others I enjoy are football, basketball, golf, hunting, and tennis.

Image of Maria

I'm from Maine, born in 1980. I am deaf, profoundly deaf. I am a senior at a deaf school known as Model School for the Deaf. I like to play softball and volleyball and to read harlequin romance books and mysteries. I like to do something fun instead of doing nothing! For example, I play pool, treasure hunt, whatever, maybe basketball (I'm lousy! But I don't care!), ping pong, variant! My interests are in mathematics and science and I want to be a veterinarian, doctor, or marine biologist. Even though I am deaf, I must believe that I can do it and try it.

Image of Michael

My name is Michael and I am a 17 year-old from Maine. I love computers, music, sports, and anything else fun! I have ADD (Attention Deficit Disorder), which is a pretty big problem in school. Most of my teachers are understanding enough for me to still do well. I think that if it weren't for computers, I would not be half as far along as I am now.

Image of Rebecca

My name is Rebecca. I was born in 1980 in San Diego, California. I've had Cerebral Palsy since birth, affecting my limb motion, hearing, and eyesight. My hobbies include hanging out with my friends, listening to music, writing lyrics, and reading. I think I've had a better time at the DO-IT summer program than I've had in two years!

Image of Katrina

My name is Katie. I am 18 years old and live in Oregon. I have juvenile diabetes. I have taken ballet all my life and enjoy most sports. I will attend Augustana college in Illinois this fall.

Image of Jodi

Hi! My name is Jodi and I just graduated from Filer High School in Idaho. I have eight sisters, two brothers and two dogs. I have mild Cerebral Palsy which affects my lower extremities. I am so lucky to be a part of the DO- IT program. DO-IT has opened up many opportunities for me. Through DO- IT I have learned so much about myself and others with disabilities. I will attend Idaho State University and major in pre-medicine so that I can accomplish my life-long dream of becoming a physician.

Image of Anh

My name is Anh. I'm 17 years old and live in California. In the fall I will be a senior. My favorite sport is basketball, and my favorite players are Michael Jordan and Anferee Hardaway. My hobby is collecting magic and basketball cards. I have Larsen Syndrome, which affects the joints in my body. I use an electric wheelchair.

Image of Travis

My name is Travis and I am blind. I am 17 years old and live on a farm in Nebraska. When I am at home, I usually help on the farm like feeding our hogs or helping with the irrigation of our corn. I am excited about the Internet and happy that I am getting some experience with it.

Image of James

I'm James and I'm twenty years old. My disability is Cerebral Palsy, which was caused by a medical accident when I was two months old. I have a sister, Tiffani, and a brother, Aaron. I will be a senior in mainstream classes at Poquoson High School this fall. I am considering attending the University of Pittsburgh. I hope to open a business, like a restaurant. My interests are football, television, and mathematics.

Image of Dana

My name is Dana from Massachusetts. I like to cruise the 'Net, play soccer, swim, play volleyball, and play my bass. I have ADD (Attention Deficit Disorder) and LD (Learning Disability) which makes it hard for me to write and understand certain things. My best subjects are science, math, and history. My worst subject is English.

Image of Josh

My name is Josh and I use a wheelchair. I am 16 years old, live in Iowa, and will be a senior in high school. My family and I live on a farm. My dad farms and milks cows. My mom helps milk the cows, makes and sells crafts, and subs at school. I have a brother, Jacob, who is 7 and a sister, Jackie, who is 15. They also use wheelchairs. We have Muscular Dystrophy. In my free time I work in my raised garden and garden pond that I can get up to and feed the fish. I also like to play the computer. I would like to be a landscape designer or do something with computers.