Phase I Scholars

Group photo of 1996 DO-IT Scholars


Image of David

My name is David. I am 16 and go to high school at Rainier Beach in Washington. I will go into the 11th grade. I have Attention Deficit Disorder. My favorite things to do are watch TV and read. I want to go to college and get a degree in chemistry. I love the Mariners and am a Star Trek fan.

Image of Cheri

Hey there. My name is Cheri, and I'm from Larchwood, Iowa. I am a paraplegic as a result of a farm accident. I like to do many different things. I play the piano and percussion, and I love to sing. I'm also in wheelchair track and basketball. Last June I competed in the Junior National Wheelchair meet and got first place in shot put and weightlifting. I also placed second in all my races. Besides these activities, I like doing just about anything fun and interesting. I definitely want to go to college after high school, and someday I hope to be a doctor or an astronomer.

Image of Dan

My name is Daniel. I was born on March 17, 1980. I am currently 16 years old and have just finished the 10th grade at Morgan High School in Clinton, Connecticut. In April 1990, I was in a bicycle accident in which another boy on a bike crashed into me. My head was x-rayed and a brain tumor was discovered. I had an operation to have it removed and when I came out of it, I could do absolutely nothing. I learned to walk and talk. I occasionally lose my balance. I like to work on my computer, usually programming. In school, I like math, and my favorite classes are classes that have something to do with computer programming. When I get a job, I would probably like to do something with computer programming.

Image of David

My name is David and I am a 17 year old senior at La Grande High School in Oregon. As far as my disability, I am Albino. My particular condition is what most call "full" Albinism, which includes lack of pigment in the hair, skin, and eyes. Consequently, I am extremely sensitive to light and burn easily in the sun. I also have a vision loss which came in the Albinism packet; I have the approximate acuity of 20/200, which can make life interesting at times. For hobbies, I work with computers most of my time--that and such activities as camping, hiking, fishing, and hunting. I also enjoy playing video games on various systems and at the arcade.

Image of Chris

My name is Chris and I am from Minot, North Dakota. I'm a 17 year old senior in high school. I have had a profound hearing loss since I was born. I am interested in computer technology. I hope to go to college and become a person who works with computers. I spend most of my time surfing the Internet and enjoying the outdoors.

Image of Lucas

My name is Lucas and I am hard of hearing. I was born in La Grande, Oregon and have lived there all my life. My dad is a police officer and my mom is a librarian. I have a younger sister who is 12. We have a miniature schnauzer named Satie. I'm 16 years old and have my license. Sports are a big part of my life. My favorite is baseball. Others I enjoy are football, basketball, golf, hunting, and tennis.

Image of Maria

I'm from Auburn, Maine, born on May 29, 1980. I am deaf, profoundly deaf. I go to a deaf school known as Model School for the Deaf. Now I am a junior and age sixteen. I have only one brother, age 19, Rusty who goes to Eckard College in Florida. He'll be a sophomore. I like to play softball and volleyball and to read harlequin romance books and mysteries. I like to do something fun instead of doing nothing! For example, I play pool, treasure hunt, whatever, maybe basketball (I'm lousy! But I don't care!), ping pong, variant! My interests are in mathematics and science. My future goal is to be a veterinarian, doctor, or a marine biologist. I hope to reach that goal; even though I am deaf, I must believe that I can do it and try it.

Image of Michael

My name is Michael and I am a 16 year old from Maine. I love computers, music, sports, and anything else fun! I have ADD (Attention Deficit Disorder), which is a pretty big problem in school. Most of my teachers are understanding enough for me to still do well. I think that if it weren't for computers, I would not be half as far along as I am now.

Image of Rebecca

My name is Rebecca. I was born February 8, 1980 in San Diego, California. I've had Cerebral Palsy since birth, affecting my limb motion, hearing, and eyesight. My hobbies include hanging out with my friends, listening to music, writing lyrics, and reading. I think I've had a better time at the DO-IT summer program than I've had in two years!

Image of Katrina

My name is Katie. I am 17 years old and have lived in Salem, Oregon all my life. I have juvenile diabetes. I have taken ballet all my life and enjoy most sports. I am still undecided on what I want to do or be when I grow up.

Image of Jodi

My name is Jodi and I live in Idaho. I am 18 years old and will be a senior in high school this fall. I was born in Korea and was adopted by my family when I was 11. I was born with Cerebral Palsy. It only affects my lower extremities. I have eight sisters, two brothers, and two dogs named Max and Zack. After high school I hope to be able to attend college and eventually become a physician.

Image of Anh

My name is Anh. I'm 16 years old and living in Sacramento, California. In the fall I will be a junior, attending Luther Burbank High School. My favorite sport is basketball, and my favorite players are Michael Jordan and Anferee Hardaway. My hobby is collecting magic and basketball cards. I have Larsen Syndrome, which affects the joints in my body, and I use an electric wheelchair.

Image of Travis

My name is Travis and I am blind. I am 16 years old and in my first year of the DO-IT program. I live in Nebraska near a small town called Dorchester. I live on a farm which my dad owns and operates. When I am at home, I usually help on the farm like feeding our hogs or helping with the irrigation of our corn. I am excited about the Internet and happy that I am getting some experience with it, since the information highway is getting very popular.

Image of James

I'm James and I'm nineteen years old. My disability is Cerebral Palsy, which was caused by a medical accident when I was two months old. I have a sister, Tiffani, and a brother, Aaron. I live in Hampton, Virginia. When I started school, I went to Robert E. Lee Multi-handicapped Center for six years. Then I moved to Chesapeake, Virginia where I attended Kirk-Cone Center. A year later I moved to Washington, DC. I spent three years on Bolling AFB. I attended Sharp Health School while in DC. Then I moved back to Hampton, where I attended the same school I started in for another two years. Then for the first time I entered mainstream classes at Poquoson High School in the fall of 1994. I have made straight A's for the last two years. I will be a junior in the fall. I hope to attend college. I am considering attending the University of Pittsburgh. I hope to open a business, like a restaurant. My interests are football, television, and mathematics.

Image of Dana

My name is Dana from Concord, Massachusetts. I like to cruise the 'Net, play soccer, swim, play volleyball, and play my bass. I have ADD (Attention Deficit Disorder) and LD (Learning Disability) which makes it hard for me to write and understand certain things. My best subjects are science, math, and history. My worst is English.

Image of Josh

My name is Josh and I use a wheelchair. I am 16 years old and live in Independence, Iowa. I am a junior at Independence High School. My family and I live on a farm. My dad farms and milks cows. My mom helps milk the cows, makes and sells crafts, and subs at school. I have a brother, Jacob, who is 7 and a sister, Jackie, who is 15. They also use wheelchairs. We have Muscular Dystrophy. In my free time I like to be outside in my garden. I have a raised garden and a garden pond that I can get up to and feed the fish. I also like to play the computer, and I like animals, especially fish. When I am done with school, I would like to be a landscape designer or do something with computers.