Recreation

Recreation Staff

Executive Team

Matt Newman, Director

MattN

Matt Newman
Director

206.543.7082
mattn@uw.edu

Hometown: Central City, NE
Education: University of Arizona
If I went “pro,” I would be a: groundskeeper

Katie Beth, Associate Director for Facilities & Operations

171109-UW-Recreation-JWH-Staff-Headshots-4936

Katie Beth
Associate Director for Facilities & Operations

206.543.7089
kbeth6@uw.edu

Hometown: Chicago, IL
Education: University of Tampa
If I went “pro,” I would be a: volleyball player

Marilyn Carruth, Administrator

171003-UWREC-JWH-Instructor-Headshots-079

Marilyn Carruth
Administrator

206.543.3673
carruthm@uw.edu

Hometown: Olympia, WA
Education: Western Washington University
If I went “pro,” I would be a: baseball scout

Matt Jensen, Associate Director for UWild Adventures

Matt Jensen
Associate Director for UWild Adventures

206.616.2083
mcjensen@uw.edu

Hometown: Norfolk, NE
Education: University of Nebraska, Omaha
If I went “pro,” I would be a: #vanlife

Greg Reinhardt, Associate Director for Programs

Greg Headshot

Greg Reinhardt
Associate Director for Programs

206.543.9105
greinuw@uw.edu

Hometown: Eustis, FL
Education: Florida State University; University of Utah
If I went “pro,” I would be a: head football coach


Administration

Janell Norman, Shared Services

Janell Norman
Shared Services

206.616.1142
anorman8@uw.edu

Hometown: Bellingham, WA
If I went “pro,” I would be an: emergency manager

Grace Tseng, Shared Services

Grace Tseng
Shared Services

206.543.4591
tsengg@uw.edu

Kayleen McGinley, Shared Services

Kayleen McGinley
Shared Services

206.543.1240
kpm@uw.edu


Programs

Danny Arguetty, Mindfulness Manager

 

Danny Arguetty
Mindfulness Manager

206.685.7730
dannyarg@uw.edu

Hometown: Tel-Aviv, Israel
Education: University of Denver, Pepperdine University
If I went “pro,” I would be a: healthy dessert baker

Jeff Palmer, Fitness Manager

Jeff Palmer
Fitness Manager

206.543.1717
jpalmer8@uw.edu

Hometown: Manhattan Beach, CA
Education: Loyola Marymount, Concordia University
If I went “pro,” I would: be in law enforcement

 

Sam Rodenberg, Intramural Manager

Sam Rodenberg
Intramural Manager

206.543.9346
sroden@uw.edu

Hometown: Melrose, WI
Education: University of Wisconsin – Lacrosse, Oregon State University
If I went “pro,” I would be an: ultimate frisbee player for the Seattle Cascades


Facilities & Operations

Bart Brandvig, Maintenance Mechanic

Bart Brandvig
Maintenance Mechanic

206.255.6886
branbar@uw.edu

Carlos Rodriguez, Maintenance Mechanic

Carlos Rodriguez
Maintenance Mechanic

206.255.5524
cr34@uw.edu

Chad Yarbrough, Operations Coordinator

Chad

Chad Yarbrough
Operations Coordinator

206.616.3251
cyarb@uw.edu

Hometown: Seattle, WA
Education: University of Washington
If I went “pro,” I would be a: pro baseball player

Giancarlo Provo, Program Coordinator

Giancarlo Provo
Program Coordinator

206.616.4371
gprovo@uw.edu

Hometown: Des Moines, WA
Education: University of Washington
If I went “pro,” I would be a: doggie daycare owner

Josie Vander Klay, Program Coordinator

Josie Vander Klay
Program Coordinator

206.616.4371
jvklay@uw.edu

Hometown: Sacramento, CA
Education: Mills College
If I went “pro,” I would be a: fashion designer

Nick Kaley, Program Coordinator

Nick Kaley
Program Coordinator

206.616.4371
kaleyn@uw.edu

Hometown: Spokane, WA
Education: University of Washington
If I went “pro,” I would be a: drummer in a rock band

Jim Paschall, Maintenance Mechanic

171109-UW-Recreation-JWH-Staff-Headshots-4951

Jim Paschall
Maintenance Mechanic

206.396.5129
jamesp25@uw.edu

Hometown: Spokane, WA
If I went “pro,” I would be an: electrician

Joe Sanchez, Maintenance Custodian

Joe Sanchez
Maintenance Custodian

206.396.5180
js59@uw.edu

Julie Gillespie, Operations Manager

Julie Gillespie
Operations Manager

206.616.7345
julies14@uw.edu

Hometown: Spokane, WA
Education: Gonzaga University
If I went “pro,” I would be a: soccer player

Mohammed Alfera, Custodian

Mohammed Alfera
Custodian

alferm@uw.edu

Mulu Kidane, Custodian

Mulu Kidane
Custodian

muluk@uw.edu

Frewoini Tesfai, Custodian Lead

Frewoini Tesfai
Custodian Lead

mtekle@uw.edu

Niles Appleby, Golf Range Manager

Niles Appleby
Golf Range Manager

206.543.8759
nappleby@uw.edu

Hometown: Redmond, WA
Education: University of Washington
If I went “pro,” I would be a: golfer

Pilo Manaois, Maintenance Mechanic

Pilo Manaois
Maintenance Mechanic

206.255.6889
pilo@uw.edu

Hometown: Mountlake Terrace, WA
Education: Feati University, Manila – Philippines
If I went “pro,” I would be a: medical tech

Rezene Tesfamariam, Custodian Lead

Rezene Tesfamariam
Custodian Lead

rsbyuc@uw.edu

Ron Estacio, Maintenance Custodian

Ron Estacio
Maintenance Custodian

206.396.2092
re7@uw.edu

Tim Taylor, Facilities Manager

Tim Taylor
Facilities Manager

206.255.6883
taylort@uw.edu

Tom Shih, Custodian

Tom Shih
Custodian

tshih3@uw.edu

Hometown: Taipei, Taiwan

Chase McLendon, Facilities Manager

Chase McLendon
Facilities Manager

206.535.4755
chase22@uw.edu

Hometown: Gig Harbor, WA
Education: Saint Leo University
If I went “pro,” I would be a: MLB and/or PGA player

Josh Yeager Deekens, Aquatics & Safety Manager

171109-UW-Recreation-JWH-Staff-Headshots-4921

Josh Yeager Deekens
Aquatics & Safety Manager

206.685.7401
jy78@uw.edu

Hometown: St. Thomas, PA
Education: Bridgewater College
If I went “pro,” I would be a: chef


UWild Adventures

Bryan Anderson, Boating and Rentals Manager

Bryan Anderson
Waterfront Activities Center- Boating and Rentals Manager

Hometown: Puyallup, WA
Education: Eastern Washington University
If I went “pro,” I would be a: beekeeper

Nathan Page, Field Programs and Interim Climbing Manager

Nathan Page
Field Programs Manager

206.616.1143

njpage@uw.edu

Hometown: Gig Harbor, WA
Education: Pacific Lutheran University
If I went “pro,” I would be a: speed walker


Information Technology

Adam Coward, IT Administrator

Adam Coward
IT Administrator

206.616.1087
rectech@uw.edu

Hometown: Lakeville, CT
Education: Ithaca College
If I went “pro,” I would be a: trail runner


Special Projects

Nicole Klein, Capital Campaign Manager

A photo of Nicole KleinNicole Klein
Capital Campaign Manager

206.221.8517
kleinn@uw.edu

Hometown: Coos Bay, OR
Education: University of Oregon
If I went “pro,” I would be a: museum curator


Marketing & Communications

Robin Brooks, Marketing & Communications Manager

A photo of Robin Brooks

Robin Brooks
Marketing & Communications Manager

206.685.1144
rebrooks@uw.edu

Hometown: Houghton, MI
Education: Northern Michigan University, University of Idaho, UW
If I went “pro,” I would be a: soccer player