Recreation

Recreation Staff

Executive Team

Matt Newman, Director

MattN

Matt Newman
Director

206.543.7082
mattn@uw.edu

Hometown: Central City, NE
Education: University of Arizona
If I went “pro,” I would be a: groundskeeper

Katie Beth, Associate Director for Facilities & Operations

171109-UW-Recreation-JWH-Staff-Headshots-4936

Katie Beth
Associate Director for Facilities & Operations

206.543.7089
kbeth6@uw.edu

Hometown: Chicago, IL
Education: University of Tampa
If I went “pro,” I would be a: volleyball player

Greg Reinhardt, Associate Director for Programs & Staff Development

Greg Reinhardt
Associate Director for Programs & Staff Development

206.543.9105
greinuw@uw.edu

Hometown: Eustis, FL
Education: Florida State University; University of Utah
If I went “pro,” I would be a: head football coach

Cassidy Sanders-Curry, Assistant to Executive Team

Cassidy Sanders-Curry
Assistant to Executive Team

csc14@uw.edu

Hometown: San Jose, CA
Education: California State University Stanislaus, Newcastle University
If I went “pro,” I would be a: Surfer


Administration


Programs

Alexis Ryan, UWild Field Programs Manager

Alexis Ryan
UWild Field Programs  Manager

206.616.9872

ahryan@uw.edu

Hometown: Ithaca,NY
Education: Ithaca College
If I went “pro,” I would be a: Professional Stand-up Paddle boarder

Jason Creighton, UWild Program Coordinator

Jason Creighton
UWild Program Coordinator

jason600@uw.edu

Hometown: El Paso, Texas
Education: University of Washington
If I went “pro,” I would be a: Shark Cinematographer

Jeff Palmer, Fitness Manager and Interim Mindfulness Manager

Jeff Palmer
Fitness Manager and Interim Mindfulness Manager

206.543.1717
jpalmer8@uw.edu

Hometown: Manhattan Beach, CA
Education: Loyola Marymount, Concordia University
If I went “pro,” I would: be in law enforcement

 

Jeremy Cox, UWild Climbing Program Manager

Jeremy C

Jeremy Cox
UWild Climbing Program Manager

206.616.1143

jeremync@uw.edu

Hometown: Seattle, WA
Education: US Naval Academy
If I went “pro,” I would be a: mountain goat

Katie Carroll, Intramurals Manager

Photo of Katie Carroll.

Katie Carroll
Intramurals Manager

kec1991@uw.edu

Hometown: Liberty Corner, NJ
Education: Fordham University, George Washington University
If I went “pro,” I would: Soccer Coach

 

 

 

Sam Rodenberg, Rec Clubs Manager

Sam Rodenberg
Rec Clubs Manager

206.543.9346
sroden@uw.edu

Hometown: Melrose, WI
Education: University of Wisconsin – Lacrosse, Oregon State University
If I went “pro,” I would be an: ultimate frisbee player for the Seattle Cascades


Facilities & Operations

Bart Brandvig, Maintenance Mechanic Lead

Bart Brandvig
Maintenance Mechanic Lead

206.255.6886
branbar@uw.edu

Carlos Rodriguez, Maintenance Mechanic

Carlos Rodriguez
Maintenance Mechanic

206.255.5524
cr34@uw.edu

Chad Yarbrough, Operations Coordinator

Chad Yarbrough
Operations Coordinator

206.616.3251
cyarb@uw.edu

Hometown: Seattle, WA
Education: University of Washington
If I went “pro,” I would be a: pro baseball player

Giancarlo Provo, Program Coordinator

Photo of Giancarlo.

Giancarlo Provo
Program Coordinator

206.616.4371
gprovo@uw.edu

Hometown: Des Moines, WA
Education: University of Washington
If I went “pro,” I would be a: doggie daycare owner

Josie Vander Klay, Program Coordinator

Josie Vander Klay
Program Coordinator

206.616.4371
jvklay@uw.edu

Hometown: Sacramento, CA
Education: Mills College
If I went “pro,” I would be a: fashion designer

Nick Kaley, Program Coordinator

Nick Kaley
Program Coordinator

206.616.4371
kaleyn@uw.edu

Hometown: Spokane, WA
Education: University of Washington
If I went “pro,” I would be a: drummer in a rock band

Jim Paschall, Maintenance Mechanic

Jim Headshot

Jim Paschall
Maintenance Mechanic

206.396.5129
jamesp25@uw.edu

Hometown: Spokane, WA
If I went “pro,” I would be an: electrician

Joe Sanchez, Maintenance Custodian

Joe Sanchez
Maintenance Custodian

206.396.5180
js59@uw.edu

Julie Gillespie, Operations Manager

Photo of Julie

Julie Gillespie
Operations Manager

206.616.7345
julies14@uw.edu

Hometown: Spokane, WA
Education: Gonzaga University
If I went “pro,” I would be a: soccer player

Mohammed Alfera, Custodian

Mohammed Alfera
Custodian

alferm@uw.edu

Mulu Kidane, Custodian

Mulu Kidane
Custodian

muluk@uw.edu

Frewoini Tesfai, Custodian Lead

Frewoini Tesfai
Custodian Lead

mtekle@uw.edu

Niles Appleby, Golf Range Manager

Niles Appleby
Golf Range Manager

206.543.8759
nappleby@uw.edu

Hometown: Redmond, WA
Education: University of Washington
If I went “pro,” I would be a: golfer

Pilo Manaois, Maintenance Mechanic

Pilo Manaois
Maintenance Mechanic

206.255.6889
pilo@uw.edu

Hometown: Mountlake Terrace, WA
Education: Feati University, Manila – Philippines
If I went “pro,” I would be a: medical tech

Rezene Tesfamariam, Custodian Lead

Rezene Tesfamariam
Custodian Lead

rsbyuc@uw.edu

Ron Estacio, Maintenance Custodian

Ron Estacio
Maintenance Custodian

206.396.2092
re7@uw.edu

Tim Taylor, Facilities Manager

Tim Taylor
Facilities Manager

206.255.6883
taylort@uw.edu

Tom Shih, Custodian

Tom Shih
Custodian

tshih3@uw.edu

Hometown: Taipei, Taiwan

Chase McLendon, Facilities Manager

Chase McLendon
Facilities Manager

206.535.4755
chase22@uw.edu

Hometown: Gig Harbor, WA
Education: Saint Leo University
If I went “pro,” I would be a: MLB and/or PGA player

Josh Yeager Deekens, Aquatics & Safety Manager

171109-UW-Recreation-JWH-Staff-Headshots-4921

Josh Yeager Deekens
Aquatics & Safety Manager

206.685.7401
jy78@uw.edu

Hometown: St. Thomas, PA
Education: Bridgewater College
If I went “pro,” I would be a: chef

Yonatan Fessehatzion, Custodian

Yonatan Fessehatzion
Custodian

yonat@uw.edu

Hometown: Renton, WA
If I went “pro,” I would be a: astrophysicist


Information Technology

Nate Harris, IT Administrator

Nate Harris
IT Administrator

206.616.1087
nate5@uw.edu

Hometown: Kingston, NY
Education: Montana State University but Self Taught In Computers, Audio, Video, and Technology
If I went “pro,” I would be a: Professional Photographer, Technologist, Or Zip Lining


Special Projects

Nicole Klein, Capital Campaign Manager

A photo of Nicole KleinNicole Klein
Capital Campaign Manager

206.221.8517
kleinn@uw.edu

Hometown: Coos Bay, OR
Education: University of Oregon
If I went “pro,” I would be a: museum curator


Marketing & Communications

Cassidy Sanders-Curry, Marketing & Communications Lead

Cassidy Sanders-Curry
Marketing & Communications Lead

csc14@uw.edu

Hometown: San Jose, CA
Education: California State University Stanislaus, Newcastle University
If I went “pro,” I would be a: Surfer