UW News

July 16, 2019

8 UW professors elected to the Washington State Academy of Sciences in 2019

UW News

Eight scientists and engineers from the University of Washington have been elected this year to the Washington State Academy of Sciences. According to a statement released July 15 by the organization, the new members were selected for “their outstanding record of scientific and technical achievement and their willingness to work on behalf of the Academy to bring the best available science to bear on issues within the state of Washington.”

In all, UW professors make up one-third of the 24 new members, who will be formally inducted in September during an annual meeting at the Museum of Flight in Seattle.

Elected by current members of the Washington State Academy of Sciences:

  • Elaine M. Faustman, professor of environmental and occupational health sciences
  • Mark C. Long, associate dean for faculty affairs and professor in the Evans School of Public Policy & Governance
  • Anne Bowen McCoy, professor of chemistry
  • Mari Ostendorf, professor of electrical and computer engineering and associate vice provost of research
  • Per G. Reinhall, professor and chair of mechanical engineering
  • Martin J. Savage, professor of physics at the UW Institute for Nuclear Theory
  • Nephi Stella, professor of pharmacology and of psychiatry and behavioral sciences

Additionally, Christopher Bretherton, professor of atmospheric sciences and of applied mathematics, was elected to the state academy by virtue of his election into the National Academy of Sciences.