Skip to content

Diversity Award for Community Building

Cynthia del Rosario

Cynthia del Rosario, ’94, ’96, director for Graduate Minority Recruitment and Retention at the UW Information School, has been named the recipient of the 2011 University of Washington Vice President for Minority Affairs and Vice Provost for Diversity Community Building Award.
The award will be presented at the Multicultural Alumni Partnership (MAP) Bridging the Gap Breakfast, on Sat., Oct. 29. The MAP breakfast will be held at Haggett Hall (Cascade Room) from 8-10 a.m.
Del Rosario’s powerful leadership and networking skills have strengthened campus and community dialogues surrounding the topic of diversity. She sponsors the iSchool’s Diversity Committee and supported the formation of a student organization, iEracism. Del Rosario is also active in the Graduate Opportunities for Minority Achievement Program (GO-MAP), working to ensure that the iSchool, College of Education and GO-MAP communities know how to support diversity initiatives across campus.
Del Rosario received a bachelor’s degree in speech communication in 1994 and master’s degree in education in 1996 from the University of Washington.
The award recognizes a University of Washington student, staff member or faculty member whose efforts toward positive change on campus have resulted in multicultural community building.
Previous winners include Ja-Anana Elliot (Foster School of Business, 2010), Dr. Michelle Habell-Pallán (Department of Women’s Studies, 2009), Michael Verchot (Foster School of Business, 2008), Carolyn Chow (School of Nursing, 2007), Dr. Gino Aisenberg (School of Social Work, 2006) and Dr. Sheila Edwards Lange (Office of Minority Affairs and Diversity, 2005).
Photo by Ron Wurzer, UW Photography