Skip to content

Friends of the Educational Opportunity Program

Established in 1971, the Friends of the Educational Opportunity Program (FEOP) Board of Trustees promotes academic excellence for underrepresented, educationally and economically disadvantaged students.

The Friends serve as an advisory pipeline between the Office of Minority Affairs & Diversity (OMA&D) and the community, and provide counsel to the vice president on resource development and diversity initiatives. FEOP joins OMA&D in selecting the University of Washington Charles E. Odegaard Award and student scholarship recipients, and serving as a host for Celebration.

FEOP Board
Gathering of our FEOP Board in 2019 including (l-r): Brooke Tamble, Larry Sims, Jarrod Da, Anthony Sanchez, Stephen Robinson, Bree H. Kame’enui-Ramirez, Mary Jane Topash, Shirin Soleman, Dr. Gabriel Gallardo, Barbara L. MacLean, Emile Pitre and Rickey Hall.

2021-2022 Board of Trustees

Each Trustee is appointed, or elected for a three-year term. The Board meets monthly except July and August. Its signature event, Celebration, raises funds for the FEOP endowment. Celebration 2021 will be held Wednesday, May 12, at the Husky Union Building.

FEOP Board President Barbara L. MacLean and former Vice President Larry Sims

Board Members


  • Katherine Day Hase
  • Joaquín Benjamín Chapar Ortíz
  • Daya Terry
  • Sara Werner

For any questions or comments, please contact:
Joaquín Benjamín Chapar Ortíz

2020 FEOP Reunion Photo Gallery

Photos by Emile Pitre