Skip to content

Faculty Senate & Governance

The University of Washington system of shared governance makes it a responsibility of faculty to share with the administration the day-to-day governance of the university. There are four institutions of faculty governance with different sets of responsibilities: Faculty Senate, Secretary of the Faculty, university faculty councils, and schools, colleges & campuses.

About us



The Faculty Senate and Senate Executive Committee meet eight times during the academic year. The agenda for each meeting is sent the week before and the minutes are approved at the following meeting.

Learn more


Legislation amending the Faculty Code and Scholastic Regulations is passed by the Faculty Senate and approved by voting faculty.


Pending legislation

Faculty Code

The Faculty Code outlines the rights and responsibilities of faculty and administrators.

The Faculty Code can be amended by the faculty through Class A legislation.

Review the Faculty Code


Faculty Councils & Committees

There are 12 standing Faculty Councils that meet during the academic year and are an integral part of shared governance.

The Faculty Senate also creates ad hoc committees to address specific issues. These committees complete their charge and then report to the Senate.

Faculty councils




Schools, colleges & campuses

bronze W paperweight on library table

The governing body of a campus, college, or school is its elected faculty council. These elected bodies shall advise their respective deans or chancellors on matters of faculty promotion and tenure. The faculty determine the organization and structure of its council and the procedure by which members are elected by establishing bylaws.

Learn more

Dispute resolution information

All university faculty have rights and responsibilities that are protected under University rules, regulations, and policies. When disputes arise relating to those rights and responsibilities, the Faculty Code provides various processes and options for addressing them.

Learn more


  • Faculty Senate Meeting Summary, 11/9

    November 13, 2023

    Dear colleagues, In the second full meeting of the Faculty Senate on 11/9/2023, the following main issues were on the agenda. The agenda includes full text of all reports. Chair Dougherty’s Remarks. These included updates on the Chair’s priorities: negotiating difference, and faculty well-being. The Chair is considering standing up an ad hoc committee on…

    Read more

  • Faculty Senate - Actions and Updates

    October 24, 2023

    Dear Colleagues I hope the quarter is going well so far. I’m writing from the Faculty Senate with what will be a bi-monthly update on our work. This message contains the following updates: Town Hall on Decarbonization at the UW: this Wednesday at 4:30. Provost’s Teaching and Learning initiative: please give feedback. Finance Transformation stabilisation,…

    Read more

  • Decarbonization Town Hall

    October 17, 2023

    Decarbonization Town Hall Wednesday, October 25 4:30 p.m., Kane Hall 110 Livestream available: RSVP here for Zoom link Join the Faculty Council on Campus Planning and Stewardship for a panel discussion on the UW’s efforts to decarbonize our operations and address climate change. The discussion will touch on existing plans, prospects for envisioning and funding decarbonization…

    Read more

Faculty Senate news