DO-IT Mentors

Mentors encourage DO-IT Scholars, Ambassadors, and Pals as they pursue academic programs and careers. Most Mentors have disabilities themselves. They share valuable experiences, insights, and resources with younger participants. Mentors communicate with each other by sending messages to mentors@uw.edu. The entire group of Mentors, Pals, Scholars, and Ambassadors are reached by sending messages to doitchat@uw.edu.

Adanna Abakporo
Senior employment consultant ​​
AtWork!
anabakporo14@gmail.com
 

Joseph Alloway
Outreach Coordinator
Center for Environmentally Sustainable Transportation in Cold Climates​
jaalloway@alaska.edu
 

Elita Baldridge
elita.baldridge@weecology.org
 

Kevin Berg
Cerebral palsy
Founder and head tech
CompuPane, LLC​
www.compupane.net
kevinberg@kevinberg.net
 

Anindya “Bapin” Bhattacharyya
Deaf/blind
Coordinator of National Outreach Technology Development and Training Program
Helen Keller National Center for Deaf-Blind Youths and Adults
CEO of Bapin Group, LLC
bapin@bapin.info
 

Karen L. Braitmayer
Osteogenesis imperfecta​
Architect, business owner
Studio Pacifica, Ltd.
Karen Braitmayer, FAIA
karen@braitmayer.com
 

Gina Ceylan
Visual impairment
PhD candidate
University of Missouri
ginacofc@hotmail.com
 

Maryland Chang
Research professor and director
Chemistry-Biochemistry-Biology Interface Program
University of Notre Dame
mchang@nd.edu
 

Wendy Chisholm
Senior accessibility strategist
Microsoft
chisholm.wendy@gmail.com
 

Rebecca Cory
Learning disability
Associate dean of instruction
Bellevue College
rebecca.cory@bellevuecollege.edu
 

Frank Cuta​
Blind
frank@cuta.net
 

Donald Daughtry​
Vision Impairment
Professor of Psychology, Graduate coordinator
Texas A&M University, Kingsville
donald.daughtry@tamuk.edu
 

Roland Deex
Deloitte Risk and Financial Advisory
rolanddeex@gmail.com
 

Devin Doughty
devindoughty@gmail.com
 

Imke Durre​
Blind
Climatologist
National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration, National Climatic Data Center
imke.durre@gmail.com
 

Sal Edwards
snappysal44@gmail.com
 

Samantha Estrada
samantha_estrada2000@yahoo.com
 

Kings Floyd
High Point University
kingsley.floyd@gmail.com

John Gardner
Blind
President and CEO
ViewPlus Technologies
john.gardner@viewplus.com
 

Kajari Ghosh Dastidar​
Computer scientist
EdgeVerve
kajarigd@gmail.com
 

Molly Gilmore
Albert Einstein College of Medicine
molly.gilmore@einstein.yu.edu

John Goettle
Asperger's Syndrome
beetlebug2@yahoo.com

Marni Goldman
Spinal muscular atrophy
Educational director
 

Julie Grant
Paraplegic, L2 spinal cord injury
Occupational therapist
juliegrant@gmail.com
 

Karen Hare
Adjunct professor
New Jersey Institute of Technology
hare@njit.edu
 

Roger Harris
Mobility Impairment, Kidney Failure
Associate professor emeritus, retired
University of Washington, School of Medicine
rogerh@u.washington.edu

Steve Harper
Cerebral palsy
Student
wiodell@gmail.com
 

Paul Helquist​
Associate chair
University of Notre Dame
phelquis@nd.edu
 

Morgan Hiraiwa
hiraiwm@gmail.com
 

Mamoru Iwabuchi​
Assistant professor
Research Center for Advanced Science and Technology
University of Tokyo
 

Sungeeta Jain
Paraplegic
Director
The Orphan Project, India
sungeetajain@hotmail.com
 

Abid Kapadya​
Analytics lead
Google
abid.kapadya@gmail.com
 

Acacia Kapusta
Arthritis, Charcot-Marie-Tooth Disease, Depression, IBS, Idiopathic Hypersomnia
acacia.kapusta@wsu.edu
 

Joshua Lessing
Founder and director
Soft Robotics, Inc.
joshualessing@gmail.com
 

Mike Lewis
lewism7@gmail.com
 

Karen Liu
Statistician
PRA Health Services
changisme@gmail.com
 

Sara Lopez
Co-director for the Center for Leadership in Athletics and program director for the Intercollegiate Athletic Leadership M.Ed.
University of Washington
lopezsl@uw.edu
 

Kevin Lybarger
University of Washington
lybarger@uw.edu
 

Jennifer Mankoff​
Professor in computer science and engineering
University of Washington
jmankoff@cs.washington.edu
 

Mary Ann McDowell
Associate professor
University of Notre Dame
mcdowell.11@nd.edu
 

Theresa Mina
Learning disability
Academic advisor
neonride@optonline.net
 

Shahriar Mobashery
mobashery@nd.edu
 

Stephanie Moore
Project scientist
National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration Northwest Fisheries Science Center
stephanie.moore@noaa.gov
 

Tuan (Brandon) Nguyen
Graduate student
University of Washington
tuanngu2015@gmail.com
 

Monica Olsson
Cerebral palsy
Manager
Access Services
Tacoma Community College
mmolsson@gmail.com
 

Ray Parker
Microsoft
rayokadaparker@gmail.com
 

Gay Lloyd Pinder
Deaf
Program director and speech language pathologist
Children’s Therapy Center
glpin@u.wahsington.edu
 

Ed Pottharst
Deaf
Community organizer; neighborhood center coordinator
City of Seattle Department of Neighborhoods
ed.pottharst@seattle.gov
 

Tracy Rackensperger
Cerebral palsy
Outreach coordinator
University of Georgia
tdoggog@yahoo.com
 

Michael Richardson
Deaf
Director
Northwest Americans with Disabilities Act Center
mike67@u.washington.edu
 

Keith Routley
deaf
Museum curator/division chief
National Park Service
keith_routley@nps.gov
 

Sarina Sandhu
University of Washington
sarina.k.sandhu@gmail.com
 

Eva-Marie Seeto
Director, Student Life and Learning
University of the Sunshine Coast
eseeto@usc.edu.au
 

Marcia Sipe-Dan
Post traumatic stress disorder and brain damage
Vocational rehabilitation counselor
OSC Vocational Systems
toocia@hotmail.com
 

Bradley Smith
Professor
University of Notre Dame
smith.115@nd.edu
 

Greg Smith
C-5 quadriplegia
Principle research software development engineer
Microsoft
gregsmi@microsoft.com
 

Nancy Smith​
Geneve College
 

Carole Snyder
Cerebral palsy
Software developer engineer
carolersnyder@hotmail.com
 

Jennifer Steger
Attention deficit disorder
Graduate student
University of Washington
jsteger@uw.edu
 

Val Sundby-Thorp
Dean for social science and business
South Puget Sound Community College
 

Doug Van Hoewyk
Associate professor
Coastal Carolina University
dougvh@coastal.edu
 

Aimee Verrall
Research coordinator
Department of Rehabilitation Medicine
University of Washington
verrall@u.washington.edu
 

Jennifer Weisbart-Moreno
jennifer.weisbart@cgu.edu
 

Vasanth Williams
General manager
Amazon
vaswills@hotmail.com
 

Kyla E. Wright
University of Washington
kylaw97@uw.edu