AccessComputing Wins Team Innovators Award!

Michael Richardson, DO-IT program manager

Each year, the University of Washington College of Engineering honors its outstanding staff, teaching and research assistants, and faculty who make innovative and meaningful contributions to our community.

On April 24, the AccessComputing project received the Team Innovator Award for 2007! Only six project participants could be presented with the award, so Sheryl Burgstahler, Richard Ladner, Michael Richardson, Rob Roth, Terry Thompson, and Lyla Crawford accepted it on behalf of all who are working to make this project a success by increasing the participation of individuals with disabilities in computing careers nationwide.

AccessComputing is led by the Department of Computer Science and Engineering and DO-IT at the UW. Project partners include the NSF-funded Regional Alliances for Persons with Disabilities, Gallaudet University, the National Technical Institute for the Deaf, Microsoft, and SIGACCESS of the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM). It is funded by the National Science Foundation as part of the Broadening Participation in Computing (BPC) program of the Directorate for Computer and Information Sciences and Engineering (CISE) (grant #CNS-0540615).

For more information on AccessComputing, go to