AccessComputing Collaborators and Partners in the News

Sheryl Burgstahler, DO-IT Director
Richard Ladner, Jonathan Lazar, Jeanine Cook, Rob Parke, and Ayanna Howard

DO-IT’s AccessComputing project serves to increase the participation of people with disabilities in computing academic programs and careers. It is with great pleasure that I share some recent accomplishments of project leaders, partners, and collaborators.

  • AccessComputing and AccessCSforAll PI Richard Ladner received the Public Service Award from the National Science Board. A very prestigious award, this has previously been presented Jane Goodall and Bill Nye. 
  • Long time colleague, Rob Parke, who is a senior lecturer at the University of Southern California, was profiled as part of People of the Association for Computing Machinery.
  • Another long-time colleague Jeanine Cook from Sandia National Lab received the Richard A. Tapia Achievement Award for Scientific Scholarship, Civic Science, and Diversifying Computing.
  • AccessComputing Partner Jonathan Lazar received the Special Interest Group on Accessible Computing (SIGACCESS) Award for Outstanding Contributions to Computing and Accessibility.
  • AccessComputing Partner Ayanna Howard was named the next Dean of the College of Engineering at the Ohio State University.

Congratulations to you all for your great achievements!