AccessComputing Capacity Building Award recipients are collaborators who have forged pathways that significantly advance students with disabilities in computing fields. Through their work and accomplishments, award recipients have changed the way the world views people with disabilities and their potential to succeed in challenging computing careers and activities.

Previous winners:

  • Jennifer Mankoff, University of Washington, 2020, for her leadership in helping make all Special Interest Group on Computer–Human Interaction (SIGCHI) conferences accessible to attendees with disabilities.
  • Erik Russell, Computing Research Association (CRA), 2019, for his work promoting diversity, disability, and inclusion in the computing field and at the CRA.
  • Howard Kramer, University of Colorado Boulder, 2018, for his work for his work promoting universal design and accessibility in higher education.
  • Daniel Sonnenfeld, Salesforce, 2017, for his work mentoring students who are deaf and hard of hearing as a long term partner of AccessComputing.
  • Carol Frieze, Carnegie Mellon University, 2016, for her working making broadening participation programs welcoming and accessible to students with disabilities.
  • Jeff Bigham, Carnegie Mellon University, 2016, for his work engaging students with disabilities in accessibility research and outreach activities.
  • Valerie Taylor, Texas A&M University, 2015, for her work including individuals with disabilities in broadening participation efforts.
  • Jonathan Lazar, Towson University, 2014, for his work to make SIGCHI more welcoming and accessible to individuals with disabilities. 
  • Sapna Prasad, Landmark College Institute for Research and Training, 2013, for her work to make computing education more welcoming and accessible to students with invisible disabilities.
  • Mark Wambach, National Technical Institute for the Deaf, 2012, for his work locating internships and organizing summer programs for students who are deaf and hard of hearing.
  • Daniela Marghitu, Auburn University, 2011, for her work including students with disabilities in computing camps.
  • Stephanie Ludi, Rochester Institute of Technology, 2011, for her work engaging students with visual impairments in computing and robotics activities.