Advance Access & Roles

This section allows you to manage who has access to your advance, and what level of access. The following image shows this section with some example data.

advance access and roles section

Access Roles

Roles with Owner permissions are listed first in the table, followed by any General Collaborators. The owner rows display in the following order: Advance Preparer(s), Budget Preparer (if applicable), eGC1 Preparer, Pre-Award Budget Contact, Administrative Contact, and Principal Investigator. All owner roles display even if there is no one assigned to that role. Collaborators will display in the order added.

By default, the person who creates the advance becomes the Advance Preparer. The other owners are populated from the associated application and from a connected budget, if applicable. An owner’s organization, email and phone information will display. Anyone with Owner permission can make changes to the advance. A new advance will not have any default collaborators.

A person may have more than one Owner role, but cannot be both an Owner and a General Collaborator. If you try to add an existing person in a role that would conflict, their name would appear grayed out in the search results.

Editing the Access List

Note: anyone who is an Owner or who has Can Edit permissions may update the Access & Roles page of an advance in any status.

Owners

To replace an existing owner, start typing the new person’s name or NetID in the Contacts column for that role, then select them from the results list. The one exception is that the Principal Investigator cannot be changed or removed.

Your advance can have more than one Advance Preparer. To add another, select Add Contact, then choose “Add advance preparer” from the drop-down menu. A new row will be added to the top of the table with the selected Role. Start typing the person’s name or NetID in the Contact column, then select them from the results list.  After adding a person, you can use the Sort by Role link to re-order the list.

In addition, a Pre-Award Budget Contact or Administrative Contact can be either demoted to a general collaborator with edit permission or removed from the budget by using the “more options” menu icon to the far right (three vertical blue dots). Any time you choose “remove” from the menu, a confirmation dialog will display.

An Advance Preparer, if there is at least one other Advance Preparer, can be also be demoted or removed.

General Collaborators

To add a general collaborator, select Add Contact, then choose “Add general collaborator” from the drop-down menu. A new row will be added to the top of the table. Start typing the person’s name or NetID in the Contact column, then select them from the results list. After adding a person, you can use the Sort by Role link to re-order the list.

Use the drop-down menu in the Permissions column to give either View Only or Can Edit access. The default choice is View Only. You can change the access permission at any time. Anyone with Can Edit permissions can make changes to the advance.

General Collaborators can also be

  • promoted to be an additional Advance Preparer
  • promoted to be the Pre-Award Budget Contact or Administrative Contact
    • if the contact role is empty, the collaborator is moved directly.
    • if the contact role is not empty, a confirmation dialog appears to confirm the replacement. The person being replaced is demoted to a general collaborator with edit permission.
  • removed from the budget
Top