Office of Minority Affairs & Diversity

November 19, 2013

OMA&D IC Instructor, Ambassador Among MAP Scholarship Recipients

2013 MAP Breakfast Scholarship RecipientsOffice of Minority Affairs & Diversity (OMA&D) chemistry instructor Scott Fung and Recruitment & Outreach ambassador Kamaria Carnes were among the students honored at the 19th annual Multicultural Alumni Partnership (MAP) “Bridging the Gap Breakfast” held at the Husky Union Building, Oct. 26.

Joining Fung and Carnes as 2013 MAP scholarship recipients were Svetlana Belikova, Ivan Cuevas, Brady Kent and Tania Santiago. The group was recognized at the annual gathering that also honors contributions to diversity by alumni and friends, and raises funds for economically-disadvantaged students.

2013 MAP Breakfast Scholarship RecipientsView a video featuring the 2013 MAP Scholars

Fung, ’97, received the Dr. Lois Price Spratlen Scholarship established to recognize Spratlen’s work on behalf of equal opportunity in education. In addition to pursuing a graduate degree in public health, Fung is in his 15th year working at OMA&D’s Instructional Center. In this role he instructs many underrepresented students who go on to become doctors, dentists, nurses and pharmacists. Inspired by the pre-health science students he served, Fung established a student organization called the Vietnam Health Clinic that provides free medical, dental and vision care to nearly 2,000 patients in rural Vietnamese villages.

2013 MAP Breakfast Scholarship RecipientsCarnes, a senior psychology major, received the Owen G. Lee Scholarship established to recognize Lee’s pioneering service to students. Through her work as an OMA&D ambassador, Carnes helps the Recruitment and Outreach team in its efforts to prepare underrepresented minority, low-income and first-generation students for college. Carnes is also a mentor for the OMA&D Summer Transition Program, a Dawg Daze leader and a counselor for the College Success Foundation’s Achievers College Experience Camp.

Cuevas, who is pursuing a graduate degree in social work, received the Alfredo Arreguin Scholarship established in recognition of the renowned artist’s commitment to assuring that students of color have access to higher education.  Cuevas aspires to work as labor organizer specializing in outreach to Latino workers. He began his college activism in M.E.Ch.A. (Movimiento Estudiantil Chicano/a de Aztlan) and was drawn into the labor movement. He worked at the Seattle Solidarity Network and in his current practicum is working with undocumented Latino youth seeking legal immigration status.

eNews - Winter 2014Additional MAP scholars included Belikova, a senior majoring in communications and political science who moved to the United States from the Ukraine with her family at age six. She has volunteered with her church and the American Cancer Society, and currently works for Jumpstart. Ultimately she would like to work as a foreign service officer in an American embassy.

Kent is a senior majoring in earth and space science. He was raised on the Yakama Indian Reservation and is a father to two children. Kent is active in many UW clubs and student organizations including First Nations, Young Democrats and the Associated Students of UW. His future goals include working with indigenous communities and youth.

2013 MAP Breakfast Scholarship RecipientsSantiago is a senior majoring in sociology and education. She is active in the community, co-founding the Washington State Dream Act Coalition and serving as an ambassador for the Latino/a Educational Achievement Project. Last summer, she became the first undocumented student to be crowned Miss Hispanic Seafair. Santiago’s passion is teaching and she dreams of eventually becoming Seattle School District Superintendent.

MAP was established in 1995 as a special interest club of the University of Washington Alumni Association. It was created in response to requests from multi-ethnic alumni, students, faculty and staff for a special UWAA effort to promote equal educational opportunities and create a link to the UW for alumni and communities of color.

Also honored at the MAP Breakfast were Diane Narasaki, ’76 (Dr. Samuel E. Kelly Award); Sarah Sense-Wilson, ’99 (Distinguished Alumni Award); Alejandro C. Torres, ’88 (Distinguished Alumni Award); Lembhard G. Howell (Distinguished Community Service Award) and Polly Olsen, ’94 (Diversity Award for Community Building).