Skip to content

Register Now For EOP Celebration 2011!

2010 EOP Recognition Scholars (from left to right)
Melissa Espinoza,Tania Lopez, Oscar Reyna and Brukab Sisay

Now is the time to reserve your seat for the 41st annual Celebration, Fête and Honors to be held Thursday, May 5, at the Bell Harbor International Conference Center in Seattle.
Hosted by the Office of Minority Affairs & Diversity and the Friends of the Educational Opportunity Program (EOP), this annual dinner and scholarship fundraiser honors the outstanding accomplishments of EOP student scholars and recognizes 2011 Charles E. Odegaard Award recipient, Assunta Ng, ’72, ’76, ’79.
A reception, featuring music by Son Tequio, will begin at 5:30 p.m., followed by the dinner and program at 6:30 p.m.
Thanks to the generous support of presenting sponsor Wells Fargo, all funds raised by Celebration directly benefit EOP students. Registration is available online through April 14. Ticket prices are $100 for an individual and $300 for a patron (includes two seats and additional recognition). Table sponsorships are available by contacting Greg Lewis.

2010 Recognition Scholar
Maria Ramos with Patrick Yalung,
Wells Fargo Washington Regional President

Celebration has enjoyed long-standing community and corporate support with more than 500 community and business patrons attending the event each year. Since its inception in 1971, approximately 800 EOP scholarships have been funded through donations raised at Celebration, making it possible for many underrepresented minority, economically disadvantaged, and first-generation students to receive support. On average, 80 scholarships per year are given from funds raised at the event.
Highlights of Celebration include the presentation of the Odegaard Award, as well as scholarship presentations to EOP students. The Odegaard Award was established in 1973 to honor an individual or group whose leadership sustains former UW president Charles Odegaard’s work on behalf of diversity at the University. It is considered the highest achievement in diversity at UW and has honored a long list of civic leaders including businessman and philanthropist Nelson Del Rio, ’84; chairman and executive director of the Jamestown S’Klallam Tribe W. Ron Allen, ’83; former Seattle Mayor Norm Rice, ’72, ’74; and State Rep. Phyllis Gutierrez Kenney, ’79.
Read more about becoming an EOP student sponsor. View photos from last year’s event.

Photos by Mary Levin