Office of Minority Affairs & Diversity

June 3, 2019

Academic Counseling Services Hosts 33rd Annual Spring Recognition

ACS Spring Recognition 05.22.19 098

OMA&D’s Academic Counseling Services (ACS) honored the success of students at its 33rd annual Spring Recognition Ceremony held at the Samuel E. Kelly Ethnic Cultural Center, May 22.

ACS serves underrepresented minority, first-generation and low-income students with advising and academic counseling through the Educational Opportunity Program (EOP), TRIO Student Support Services (SSS), College Assistance Migrant Program (CAMP) and the Champions Program.

TRIO-SSS adviser Kaela Worrall served as the emcee for the program that featured a series of awards presented to high-achieving scholars. EOP Director Robin Neal Clayton gave the welcome and Vice President for Minority Affairs & Diversity and University Diversity Officer Rickey Hall gave closing remarks.

Merit Awards were presented to 20 students in recognition of their academic excellence at the UW. The awards were presented by Raul Anaya, EOP assistant director, and Robin Neal Clayton.

Merit Award recipients included Ruth Adame (CAMP), Yuhaniz Aly (EOP), Noelani Arreola-Anduha (EOP), Cassandra Canales (CAMP), David Cruz (EOP), Lauren Fernandez (EOP), Mayra Galvan (TRIO-SSS), Julie Garcia (CAMP), Hafsa Hariir (EOP Scholars Academy), Erika Hernandez (TRIO-SSS), Zeytun Hussein (EOP), Oloth Insyxiengmay (EOP), Yi Ting (Christie) Lee (EOP), Lizbeth Lucas Alvarez (EOP Scholars Academy), JoMari (Jo) Moreno (Champions), Callista Ordonez (EOP), Sarely Sanchez Mercado (EOP Scholars Academy), Luis H. Serrano-Rubio (EOP), Tommy T. Tran (TRIO-SSS) and Angel Zarate (TRIO-SSS).

Seven students were presented the High Scholar Awards, honoring OMA&D students who have overcome significant academic or personal obstacles while excelling academically. Dursitu Ahmed (TRIO-SSS), Davanand Bahall Jr. (EOP), Larissa Caldera (EOP Scholars Academy), Juan Fernando Gonzalez (EOP), Eleanor (El) Roads (EOP), Javier Silva (CAMP) and Kristine Tandoc (EOP) were the 2019 recipients.

The Honors Award, selected from among the High Scholar nominees with an emphasis on academic achievement, was presented to Renee Guan (TRIO-SSS) by Larry Sims, vice president of the Friends of the Educational Opportunity Program. Passionate about social justice, Guan plans to major in Law, Societies and Justice, political science or Gender, Women and Sexuality Studies. Ultimately, she plans to become a litigation attorney.

Support the George Newsome Humanitarian Memorial Scholarship

Make a Gift

Yin Deng (EOP), an accounting major in the Foster School of Business, received the George Newsome Humanitarian Memorial Scholarship. This award was established to honor the memory of Newsome, who served as a dedicated and inspirational EOP advisor for nine years. The award recipient is selected as someone who embodies the ideals of Newsome’s spirit and is a passionate student advocate who is motivated to reach their highest potential.

Deng, who currently serves as the vice president for community service for Delta Sigma Pi, organized six chapter-wide community service events addressing homelessness, senior isolation, food banks, and environmental protection and sustainable systems. Through her business degree, she strives to influence her peers to be involved in community service and plans to advance corporate commitments to toward social responsibility.  Deng received the award from EOP adviser Linda Ando. On hand for the presentation were members of George Newsome’s family.

ACS also honors a UW staff member who has served as a partner in the work to support the retention and graduation of OMA&D students. Natacha Foo Kune, Ph.D., UW Counseling Center Director, received this year’s UW Staff Recognition Award from Robin Neal Clayton.

ACS Spring Recognition Ceremony Photo Gallery (click on photos to enlarge)

 Photos by Emile Pitre