Office of Minority Affairs & Diversity

May 31, 2017

Harrells, Student Scholars Honored at 47th Annual Celebration

UW Regent Joanne Harrell, ’76, ’79, and Seattle City Council President Bruce Harrell, ’79, ’84, received the University of Washington’s Charles E. Odegaard Award and several outstanding student scholarship recipients were recognized at the 47th annual Celebration held at the Husky Union Building Ballroom, May 16.

Over 400 community members, alumni, donors, partners, faculty and staff attended the dinner and scholarship fundraiser hosted by the UW Office of Minority Affairs and Diversity (OMA&D) and the Friends of the Educational Opportunity Program (EOP). Thanks to their support, over $300,000 was raised to benefit scholarships for underrepresented minority, low-income and first-generation students.

Watch the videos featuring the Harrells and this year’s Celebration scholars>>

View the Photo Booth Gallery on Facebook>>

Celebration 2017 Group Photo

The student scholars recognized were celebrated for their contributions on campus and in the community, while achieving academic excellence. Top honors went to President’s Achievement Award winner Starla Sampaco and Wells Fargo Vice President’s Award winner Jannette Gutiérrez.

Also acknowledged as recognition scholars were Samantha Bailey (QFC Scholar), Isaiah Barhoum (Dr. Millie Russell Scholar), Marie Bentler (Bank of America Scholar), Josue Estrada (Graduate Opportunities and Minority Achievement Program Scholar), Kiesha Garcia-Stubbs (Murray, Pitre, Baker, Rosebaugh Scholar), Ivan Machuca (Educational Opportunity Program Scholar), Havana McElvaine (University of Washington Athletic Scholar), Cecilia Perez (Gary D. Kimura Family Scholar), Osman Salahuddin (Friends of the Educational Opportunity Program Legacy Scholar), Greydon Shangreaux (Robert T. and Nancy J. Knight Scholar), Abigail Sloan (Robert T. and Nancy J. Knight Scholar), Dylan Tran (Del Rio Global Citizens Scholar), Kristiana Tupua (Lydia A. Gonzales Scholar) and Tyler Valentine (William P. and Ruth Gerberding/Early Identification Program Scholar).

Established in 1973, the Odegaard Award honors a member of the community whose leadership sustains the former UW president’s distinguished work on behalf of diversity. It is regarded as the highest achievement in diversity at the university.

Both the Harrells have received Distinguished Alumni honors from their respective undergraduate departments at the UW. Their commitment to giving back not only extends to the UW, but to the greater community as well. Joanne has held leadership roles throughout her career across high-tech, telecommunications and non-profit sectors. In her current position with Microsoft, Joanne and her team work to change lives by cultivating public and private partnerships across the country that address issues relating to education and literacy.

Bruce has been a civic leader since graduating from the UW School of Law, working in a variety of leadership roles and representing youth and seniors, union members, non-profits and affordable housing companies. A Seattle City Council Member since 2007, he is the current president and chairs the Education, Equity and Governance Committee.

New to the event this year was a live auction and the welcome reception was hosted by alumni Warren Moon, ’78, and Steve Pool, ‘78. Alumna Angela King, ’95, a former recipient of the President’s Achievement Award herself, served as the program emcee once again.

Celebration also featured remarks from UW President Ana Mari Cauce, OMA&D Vice President and Chief Diversity Officer Rickey Hall, FEOP Board President Bree Kame’enui-Ramirez, ’98, ’03, and student Ivan Machuca.

Celebration 2017 Photo Gallery (click to enlarge)

Photos by Dennis Wise and Emile Pitre