Office of Minority Affairs & Diversity

November 23, 2016

UW Community Gathers for 22nd Annual MAP Breakfast

A University of Washington Homecoming tradition for the last 22 years, the UW Alumni Association Multicultural Alumni Partnership (MAP) Bridging the Gap Breakfast once again recognized alumni and students for their commitment to diversity and contributions to the community, Oct. 22.

Two alumni, two community leaders, the Muckleshoot Indian Tribal Council and eight students were honored at the event attended by a few hundred supporters at the Husky Union Building.

Receiving the Dr. Samuel E. Kelly Award was U.S. Representative Jim McDermott, ’68, who throughout his time representing Seattle and the surrounding communities in Congress has worked to aid society’s most vulnerable populations (foster children, low-income individuals and families, unemployed Americans, and those confront major illness or disability). Congressman McDermott has been a long-time supporter of MAP, having served as the breakfast’s emcee no fewer than three times.

The Honorable Lloyd Hara, ’62, ‘64, received the Distinguished Alumni Award for his over 40 years of public service. The Distinguished Community Service Awards went to UW Professor Lauro Flores, the Muckleshoot Indian Tribal Council and the Rev. Samuel B. McKinney.

Eight UW students were also presented scholarship awards and honored for their outstanding academic achievement, excellent community service and commitment to diversity. Receiving MAP Scholarship Awards were Alina Brynza, Cesar Garcia, Royce Le and Adriana Perrusquia. Named scholarship recipients were Regina Harper (Alfredo Arreguin Scholarship), Habtam Asmeche (Drs. Lois Price and Thaddeus Spratlen Scholarship), Ilse Pamela Diaz Medrano (Northwest Asian Weekly Foundation Scholarship) and Daniele Meñez (Owen G. Lee Scholarship).

Photos by Anil Kapahi (click to enlarge).