Office of Minority Affairs & Diversity

May 17, 2016

Judge Jones, Student Scholars Honored at 46th Annual Celebration

United States District Court Judge Richard A. Jones, ’75, received the University of Washington’s Charles E. Odegaard Award and several outstanding student scholarship recipients were recognized at the 46th annual Celebration held at the Husky Union Building Ballroom, May 5.

2016 Celebration

Interim Vice President for Minority Affairs & Vice Provost for Diversity Gabriel Gallardo with Wells Fargo Vice President’s Achievement Award recipient, Mariama Suwaneh.Emile Pitre

Around 500 community members, sponsors, donors, friends, faculty, staff and administrators attended the dinner and scholarship fundraiser hosted by the UW Office of Minority Affairs and Diversity (OMA&D) and the Friends of the Educational Opportunity Program (EOP). Thanks to their support, almost $300,000 was raised to benefit scholarships for underrepresented minority, low-income and first-generation students.

Watch the videos featuring Judge Jones and this year’s Celebration scholars>>

Check out the event photo booth album on Facebook>>

The student scholars recognized were celebrated for their contributions on campus and in the community, while achieving academic excellence. Top honors went to President’s Achievement Award winner Ruben Reyes and Wells Fargo Vice President’s Award winner Mariama Suwaneh.

Link to eNews letter Summer 2016Also acknowledged as recognition scholars were Brian Amoeni (Murray, Pitre, Baker, Rosebaugh Scholar), Alvin Benavides (Bank of America Scholar), Lyndsey Brollini (Robert T. and Nancy J. Knight Scholar), Ana Gomez (Lydia A. Gonzales Scholar), Peter Graef (QFC Scholar), Nicole Harris (Dr. Millie Russell Scholar), Kathleen Kouthong (Gary D. Kimura Family Scholar), Gordon Kaeo’Okalani Maeha (Pitre Instructional Center Tutor Award), Adaurennaya Onyewuenyi (Graduate Opportunities & Minority Achievement Program Scholar), Adriana Perrusquia (Robert T. and Nancy J. Knight Scholar), Kaid Ray-Tipton (University of Washington Athletic Scholar), Elisabeth Bedolla Rocha (School of Medicine Scholar), Monique Smith (Del Rio Global Citizens Scholar), Veronica Sun (Friends of the Educational Opportunity Program Legacy Scholar) and Betelhem Yohannes (William P. and Ruth Gerberding/Early Identification Program Scholar).

Established in 1973, the Odegaard Award honors a member of the community whose leadership sustains the former UW president’s distinguished work on behalf of diversity. It is regarded as the highest achievement in diversity at the university.

2016 Celebration

Judge Jones receives the 2016 Odegaard Award.Dennis Wise

Judge Jones has served in his current role since being appointed to the federal bench in 2007. Previously, he spent over 13 years as a King County Superior Court Judge and 17 years as a practicing attorney with employment at the King County Prosecutor’s Office, Port of Seattle, the Seattle law firm of Bogle & Gates and the United States Attorney’s Office.

Highly regarded for his work, Judge Jones received Outstanding Judge Awards from the Washington State Bar Association, Washington State Trial Lawyers Association, Loren Miller Bar Association, Asian Bar Association of Washington State and King County Bar Association. He also served as a faculty member with the National Judicial College for 13 years.

In addition to his time in the courtroom, Judge Jones has been devoted to serving community organizations and giving back as a mentor to youth of color. He co-founded two Seattle-area law student programs, the Northwest Minority Job Fair and First Year Minority Clerkship Program. He has served on over 25 boards and committees including the National Center for Courts & Media and Washington State Bar Association Leadership Institute.

Also participating in Celebration were UW alumni and local TV news personalities Angela King, ’95, and Steve Pool, ’77. King, a reporter, anchor and TV host, served as the program’s emcee, while Pool, KOMO News meteorologist, led the call for support and filmed live KOMO News weather coverage in front of the HUB prior to the event.

Celebration also featured remarks from UW President Ana Mari Cauce, Interim Vice President for Minority Affairs & Vice Provost for Diversity Gabriel Gallardo, ’89, ’93, ’00, FEOP Board President Bree Kame’enui-Ramirez, ’98, ’03, Wells Fargo Senior Vice President Mark Dederer and student Nicole Harris.

Celebration 2016 Photo Gallery (click to enlarge)

Photos by Dennis Wise and Emile Pitre