Office of Minority Affairs & Diversity

June 22, 2014

Students, Staff & Faculty Honored at 2014 ACS Spring Recognition Reception

Office of Minority Affairs and Diversity (OMA&D) Academic Counseling Services (ACS) honored students, staff and faculty at its annual Spring Recognition Reception held at the Peterson Room in the Allen Library, May 1.

Undergraduate students in the Educational Opportunity Program (EOP), TRiO Student Support Services (SSS), College Assistance Migrant Program (CAMP) and the UW Champions Program were honored for their academic achievements.

ACS Director Alejandro “Val” Espania served as master of ceremony and Vice President for Minority Affairs and Vice Provost for Diversity Sheila Edwards Lange welcomed students, parents, staff and faculty in attendance. ACS academic advisors and program directors presented the awards.

Merit Awards were given to students who distinguished themselves academically while overcoming various obstacles. Recipients were Wubi Acheson, Sarah Albrecht, Elizabeth Alvarado, Everlyn Barrett, Santino Camacho, Elizabeth Castro, Gladis Castro, Joseph Castro, Malik Ceesay, Cesar Garcia, Marissa Gelm, Gabriel Gonzalez, Patience Idegwu, Charles Knight, Makaela Mautz, Mia Roberson, Gregory Smith III, Olivia Smith, Nancy Soto, Selamawit Teka and Betelham Yohannes.

The High Scholar Award recipients honored for their academic achievements included Uhuru Baynes, Long Dinh, Julie Doherty, Molly Fallen, David Inglish, An Nguyen, Bianca Ontiveros and Ruben Reyes. Cassandra Luna received the Honors Award for achieving the highest grade point average. The award was presented on behalf of the Friends of the Educational Opportunity Program Board by OMA&D Associate Vice President Emile Pitre.

Andrea Bennett, TRiO SSS Counseling Services Coordinator, received the Staff Achievement Award for her outstanding contributions. The honor was presented by TRiO SSS Director Kristian Wiles.

UW staff and faculty partner award recipients were recognized for their outstanding support of OMA&D.  The staff award went to Michelle Hall, director of student and academic services in the College of the Environment. Hall was unable to attend the reception, so Seattle MESA Director Neiri Carasco accepted the award from Wiles on her behalf. OMA&D Associate Vice President Gabriel Gallardo presented the faculty award to MariaElena Garcia, associate professor and director for the Comparative History of Ideas (CHID) program.

The George Newsome Humanitarian Scholarship, established in memory of the EOP academic advisor and student counselor who championed academic achievement, was awarded to Dasia Williams. She was recognized at OMA&D’s Celebration event, May 22.

Photos by Keoke Silvano