Office of Minority Affairs & Diversity

June 5, 2014

Hurtado, Student Scholars Honored at 44th Annual Celebration

Denny Hurtado received the University of Washington’s Charles E. Odegaard Award and several outstanding student scholarship recipients were recognized at the 44th annual Celebration, Fête and Honors held May 22, at UW’s Husky Union Building.

The dinner and scholarship fundraiser was hosted by the UW Office of Minority Affairs and Diversity (OMA&D) and the Friends of the Educational Opportunity Program (EOP). Thanks to the support of sponsors, donors and friends, over $300,000 was raised to benefit student scholarships.

Watch the video featuring Hurtado>>
Watch the video featuring this year’s EOP scholars>>

UW students affiliated with EOP were celebrated for their contributions on campus and in the community, while achieving academic excellence. Top honors went to President’s Achievement Award winner Pedro Arellano-Camarena and Wells Fargo Vice President’s Award winner Mark Bennett.

Also acknowledged as recognition scholars were Ashley Andelian (William P. and Ruth Gerberding/Early Identification Program Scholar), Fabiola Arroyo (Samuel E. Kelly Scholar), Taylor Boyd (Dr. Millie Russell Scholar), DiAndre Campbell (UW Athletic Scholar), Adrian M. Cepeda (Bank of America Scholar), Lorina Crain (Robert T. and Nancy J. Knight Scholar), Damon J. Cunningham (Robert T. and Nancy J. Knight Scholar), Ha Doan (Educational Opportunity Program Celebration Scholar), Sharayah Lane (Del Rio Global Citizens Scholar), Siyu Lu (Gary D. Kimura Scholar), Alonso Ponce-Moran (Friends of the Educational Opportunity Program), Elizabeth Pring (Educational Opportunity Program Celebration Scholar), Ibette Valle (Lydia A. Gonzales Scholar) and Richard Vansiclen (Educational Opportunity Program Celebration Scholar).

Established in 1973, the Odegaard Award honors a member of the community whose leadership sustains the former UW president’s distinguished work on behalf of diversity. It is the only University and community-based award, and is regarded as the highest achievement in diversity at the UW.

Hurtado is the former chair of the Skokomish Tribe and retired director of Indian Education for the Washington State Office of the Superintendent of Public Instruction (OSPI). For the last three decades, he has advocated for Indian rights and education throughout the state. In his 12-year tenure with OSPI, he worked with 29 tribes and led the creation of groundbreaking curriculum for elementary, middle and high school educators.

Hurtado’s contributions also extend to the UW. As a member of the wǝɫǝbʔaltxʷ (Intellectual House) Advisory Committee, he is helping lead an effort to build a longhouse on the UW campus that will support Native American student success. He is also a host and facilitator for the UW’s annual Tribal Leadership Summit; immediate past president and current member of the UW Native American Advisory Board; and advisor for the College of Education.

UW alumna Angela King, ’95, served as emcee for the event that included remarks from UW President Michael K. Young; Vice President for Minority Affairs and Vice Provost for Diversity Sheila Edwards Lange, ’00, ‘06; and Wells Fargo Washington Vice President Mark Dederer. Also participating in the program were president of the Friends of EOP Board Bree Kame’enui-Ramirez, ’98, ‘03; Nordstrom Corporate Center Diversity Affairs Director Colleen Fukui-Sketchley, ‘94; and Founder Toyia Taylor, ’97. Boyd gave this year’s student remarks.

Photos by Karen Orders