Skip to content

ACS Hosts Annual Spring Recognition Reception

2013 EOP Spring RecognitionOffice of Minority Affairs and Diversity Academic Counseling Services (ACS) honored students, staff and faculty at its annual Spring Recognition Reception held at the newly renovated Samuel E. Kelly Ethnic Cultural Center, April 25.

Undergraduate students in the Educational Opportunity Program (EOP), TRiO Student Support Services (SSS), College Assistance Migrant Program (CAMP) and the UW Champions Program were honored for their academic achievements.

EOP academic counselor Elena Guevara served as the mistress of ceremonies and Vice President for Minority Affairs and Vice Provost for Diversity Sheila Edwards Lange welcomed students, parents, staff and faculty in attendance. ACS academic advisors and program directors presented the student awards.

Merit Awards were presented to students who distinguished themselves academically while overcoming various obstacles. Those recipients included Janel Banks, Francisco Blanco, Emily Bunch, Lauren Cambronero, Max Castanera, Rogelio Castillo, II, Fatoumatta Conteh, Jamie Coombes, Francesca Costa, Kierra Marie Elfalan, Patricia Galvez, Gustavo Gonzalez, Evan Gibson, Brandon Napas Hadi, Justin Lee, Nathan Hyun-Soo Lee, Siyu Lu, Nick Martinez, Jimmy Merino-Cruz, Mahaed Mohamud, Alonso Ponce Moran, Carmen Ruby Torres, Phanith Touch, Carly Vela and Ashley Walls.

The High Scholar Award recipients honored for their academic achievements included Pedro Arellano-Camarena and Ibette Valle. Fethya Ibrahim received the Honors Award presented to the student with the highest grade point average.

Norma Ramirez, CAMP academic advisor, was recognized with a Staff Achievement Certificate for her outstanding contributions to the program this past year. UW staff and faculty partner award recipients were recognized for their outstanding support of the OMA&D mission and each received a framed certificate.  Colin McDonell, public information specialist in the Office of the Registrar, received the staff award and School of Social Work professor Biren (Ratnesh) Nagda received the faculty award.

The Champions Scholarship was awarded to Jennifer Arthur. Cynthia Simekha received the George Newsome Memorial Scholarship established in memory of George Newsome, an EOP academic advisor and student counselor, who championed academic achievement.

Social Work professor Biren (Ratnesh) Nagda with Dr. Sheila Edwards Lange and TRiO SSS director Kristian Wiles.Colin McDonell with Dr. Sheila Edwards Lange and EOP academic advisor Elena Guevara.Norma Ramirez with Dr. Sheila Edwards Lange and CAMP director Luz Iniguez.2013 EOP Spring RecognitionCynthia Simekha received the George Newsome Memorial Scholarship2013 Spring EOP HonoreesFethya Ibrahim is presented the Honors Award.