Office of Minority Affairs & Diversity

May 24, 2013

Rogelio Riojas, Student Scholars Honored at 43rd Annual EOP Celebration

Rogelio Riojas, Student Scholars Honored at 43rd Annual EOP CelebrationRogelio Riojas, president and chief executive offer of Sea Mar Community Health Centers, was presented the University of Washington’s Charles E. Odegaard Award and 16 student scholarship recipients were recognized at the 43rd annual EOP Celebration, Fête and Honors held May 16 at UW’s Husky Union Building.

The dinner and scholarship fundraiser was hosted by the UW Office of Minority Affairs and Diversity (OMA&D) and the Friends of the Educational Opportunity Program (EOP). Thanks to the support of sponsors, donors and friends, nearly $300,000 was raised to benefit student scholarships.

Click here to play Odegaard Award video>>
Click here to play Student Scholar video>>

eNews Fall 2013Established in 1973, the Odegaard Award honors a member of the community whose leadership sustains the former UW president’s distinguished work on behalf of diversity. It is the only University and community-based award, and is regarded as the highest achievement in diversity at the UW.

Riojas graduated from the UW with bachelor’s degrees in political science (1973) and economics (1975), and a master’s degree in health administration (1977). At UW, he was a leader among Latino student activists and participated in campaigns both on campus and in the community.

Riojas’ activism inspired his career in public health. In 1978, he started Sea Mar which began as a single medical clinic in Seattle’s South Park neighborhood. Today, it is a comprehensive health and human services organization that serves 12 counties and over 140,000 individuals per year in Washington state. Under Riojas’ leadership, Sea Mar broadened its services to also focus on education. He established a program that has awarded more than 1,000 scholarships to children of migrant farm workers.

Sixteen student scholarship recipients were honored for their contributions on campus and in the community, while achieving academic excellence. Senior Bryan Dosono (Wapato, Wash.) was presented the 2013 President’s Achievement Award, while senior Michael Fernandez (Sumner, Wash.) was presented the 2013 Wells Fargo Vice President’s Achievement Award.

Also recognized were Haneen Al-Hassani (Del Rio Global Citizens Scholar), Alina Aleaga (Gary. D. Kimura Family Scholar), Jonathan Amosa (UW Athletic Scholar ), Kainen Bell (Educational Opportunity Program Celebration Scholar), Fredy Cortez (Friends of the Educational Opportunity Program Legacy Scholar), Shay Redhorse Dupris (Robert T. and Nancy J. Knight Scholar), Yuriana Garcia (Bank of America Scholar), Abdu Issa (Dr. Millie Russell Scholar), Heebeen Kim (Educational Opportunity Program Celebration Scholar), Kylie Kimble (Robert T. and Nancy J. Knight Scholar), Kendall Morgan (Samuel E. Kelly Scholar), Cynthia Simekha (William P. and Ruth Gerberding/Early Identification Program Scholar), Avalon Valencia (Lydia A. Gonzales Scholar) and Tony Vo (Educational Opportunity Program Celebration Scholar).

UW alum Cameron Wong, ’93, served as emcee for the event that included remarks from UW President Michael K. Young; Vice President for Minority Affairs and Vice Provost for Diversity Sheila Edwards Lange, ’00, ‘06; and Wells Fargo Washington Region President Patrick Yalung. Also participating in the program were president of the Friends of EOP Board Bree Kame’enui-Ramirez, ’98, ‘03; OMA&D Foundation Board Director Nate Miles, ’82; local television reporter Angela King, ’95; and student speaker Kendall Morgan.

Photos by Mary Levin