Office of Minority Affairs & Diversity

May 17, 2011

Ng, Student Scholars Honored at 41st Annual EOP Celebration

Assunta Ng was presented the University of Washington’s Charles E. Odegaard Award and several student scholarship recipients were recognized at the 41st Annual EOP Celebration, Fête and Honors, Thursday, May 5, at the Bell Harbor International Conference Center.

The dinner and scholarship fundraiser was hosted by the UW Office of Minority Affairs and Diversity (OMA&D) and the Friends of the Educational Opportunity Program (EOP).

Click here for photo gallery>>
Click here to play Odegaard Award video>>
Click here to play Student Scholar video>>

A native of China, Ng, ’74, ’76, ’79, is the founder and publisher of the Seattle Chinese Post and Northwest Asian Weekly newspapers. She has devoted her life to promoting and mentoring women and youth and has established several community projects and organizations including the Northwest Asian Weekly Foundation and the Women of Color Empowered luncheon series. Ng has received countless awards and honors and was inducted into the UW Department of Communication Alumni Hall of Fame in 2004. She was named a UW Department of Communication Distinguished Alumna in 2005. Ng has raised millions of dollars for many charitable causes including those that benefit foster children and the victims of domestic violence.

Established in 1973, the Odegaard Award honors a member of the community whose leadership sustains the former UW president’s distinguished work on behalf of diversity. It is the only University and community-based award, and is regarded as the highest achievement in diversity at the UW.

Fifteen UW students were honored for their impressive contributions on campus and in the community, while achieving academic excellence. Senior Alexandra Zaballa was presented the 2011 President’s Achievement Award, while junior Matthew Anderson was presented the 2011 Wells Fargo Vice President’s Achievement Award. Also recognized were junior Dalia Amin (Gary D. Kimura Family Scholar), sophomore Joshua Buenavista (Bank of America Scholar), junior Bryan Dosono (William P. and Ruth Gerberding/Early Identification Program Scholar), sophomore Mary Dunlap (EOP Celebration Scholar), sophomore Helen Fillmore (Robert T. and Nancy J. Knight Scholar), junior Marisol Gutierrez (EOP Celebration Scholar), senior Anna Hohag (Robert T. and Nancy J. Knight Scholar), junior Brandon Ing (EOP Celebration Scholar), junior Mercedes Morales (Lydia A. Gonzales Scholar), senior Michael Peralta (Del Rio Global Citizens Scholar), junior Fitradin Shanle (EOP Celebration Scholar), senior Ashley Tuiasosopo (UW Athletic Scholar), and junior Maxwell Walker (Alfred and Marilyn Mus Scholar).

UW alumni Cameron Wong, ’93, and Raychael Jensen, ’06, served as emcees for the event that included remarks from Interim President Phyllis Wise; Vice President for Minority Affairs and Vice Provost for Diversity Sheila Edwards Lange, ’00, ‘06; Wells Fargo Washington Vice President and Human Resources Manager Eleanor Nelson, ’81; President of the Friends of EOP Carol Bailey; OMA&D Foundation Board Director Nate Miles, ’82; and student speaker Fitradin Shanle.