Office of Minority Affairs & Diversity

May 28, 2010

Nelson Del Rio, Student Scholars Honored At 40th Annual Celebration

SEATTLE – Nelson Del Rio was presented the 2010 Charles E. Odegaard Award and several student scholars were recognized at the 40th Annual Celebration, a banquet and scholarship fundraiser hosted by the University of Washington Office of Minority Affairs and Diversity and the Friends of the Educational Opportunity Program, Wednesday, May 19, at the HUB Ballroom.

Click here for photo gallery>>
Click here to play Odegaard Award video>>
Click here to play Student Scholar video>>

The Odegaard Award was established in 1973 to honor a member of the community whose leadership sustains President Odegaard’s distinguished work on behalf of diversity at the UW and citizens of the state. It is the only University and community based award and is regarded as the highest achievement in diversity at the UW.

Del Rio, a 1984 graduate of UW, is the principal of Sonnenblick Del Rio, a real estate development and investment company in Los Angeles, and is chairman of the Del Rio Family Foundation, an organization committed to supporting education, health and science programs that seek to improve the conditions of emerging communities from all over the world. Del Rio has done extensive work with several UW departments to carry out many of his philanthropic endeavors.

Also honored during the evening were the 15 UW students receiving recognition scholar awards. Tavis Dickerson‐Young was presented the 2010 President’s Achievement Award, while Maria Ramos was presented the 2010 Wells Fargo Vice President’s Achievement Award. Also recognized were Rachel Aleaga (EOP Celebration Scholar), Falesha Ankton (UW Athletic Scholar), Melissa Espinoza (William P. and Ruth Gerberding/EIP Scholar), Hope Hunderfund (EOP Celebration Scholar), Tania Lopez (EOP Celebration Scholar), Trevor Martin (Robert T. and Nancy J. Knight Scholar), Kristine Pascual (Lydia A. Gonzales Scholar), Renee Plummer (Mark Cooper Scholar), Oscar Reyna (Bank of America Scholar), Cheyenne Sanders (Robert T. and Nancy J. Knight Scholar), Brukab Sisay (Alfred and Marilyn Mus Scholar), Nathaniel Thomas (Del Rio Global Citizens Scholar) and James Zaw (Gary D. Kimura Family Scholar).

UW alumni Ahndrea Blue (’92) and Cameron Wong (’93) served as emcees for the event that included remarks from Provost Phyllis Wise; Vice President for Minority Affairs and Vice Provost for Diversity Sheila Edwards Lange; Patrick Yalung, Wells Fargo Washington Regional President; Carol Bailey, President of the Friends of the EOP; Nate Miles (’82), Director of State Government Affairs at Eli Lilly; and student speaker Tania Lopez.