UW Today

UW earthquake/volcano/tsunami experts

These are UW faculty who can comment on earthquakes, volcanoes, seismology and earthquake-triggered tsunamis. (See separate lists for experts on infrastructure and landslides.)

Earthquakes and volcanoes

John Vidale
Professor, Earth & Space Sciences
Director, UW-based Pacific Northwest Seismic Network
vidale@uw.edu | 310-210-2131 | Web
Expertise: Earthquakes, types and causes of earthquakes, regional earthquake early warning system. Co-lead of UW’s M9 Project studying a magnitude-9 earthquake.

Bill Steele
Communications manager, Pacific Northwest Seismic Network
wsteele@uw.edu | 206-685-5880
Expertise: Regional earthquake, volcano and tsunami hazards, risk communication, tours of the UW seismology lab

William Wilcock
Professor, Oceanography
wilcock@uw.edu | 206-543-6043 | Web
Expertise: Marine geology, monitoring seafloor earthquakes, Cascadia subduction zone

Emily Roland
Assistant professor, Oceanography
eroland@uw.edu | 206-685-9617 | Web
Expertise: Physics of seafloor faults, megathrust earthquakes

Heidi Houston
Professor, Earth & Space Sciences
hhouston@uw.edu | 206-616-7092 | Web
Expertise: Deep earthquakes, slow-slip tremors

Paul Bodin
Research professor, Earth & Space Sciences
Manager, Pacific Northwest Seismic Network
bodin@uw.edu | 206-616-7315 | Web
Expertise: Seismicity, seismic wave propagation and aftershock probabilities in the Pacific Northwest; earthquake sources; earthquake early warning system

Kenneth Creager
Professor, Earth & Space Sciences
kcc@uw.edu | 206-685-2803 | Web
Expertise: Slow slip and tremor; imaging of Earth’s mantle; a lead investigator on the Imaging Magma Under St. Helens (iMUSH) project.

Stephen Malone
Research professor emeritus, Earth & Space Sciences
smalone@uw.edu | 206-685-3811 | Web
Expertise: Regional earthquake and volcanic hazards; helped to monitor and study the first major modern eruption of Mount St. Helens in 1980.

George Bergantz
Professor, Earth & Space Sciences
bergantz@uw.edu | 206-685-4972 | Web
Expertise: Volcanoes: Numerical modeling, lab experiments and field studies.

Tsunamis

Jody Bourgeois
Professor, Earth & Space Sciences
jbourgeo@uw.edu | 206-685-2443 | Web
Expertise: Global tsunamis, history of tsunamis generated by earthquakes and asteroid impact.

Randall LeVeque
Professor, Applied Mathematics
rjl@uw.edu | 206-685-3037 | Web
Expertise: Modeling tsunami wave hazards in the Pacific Northwest

Frank Gonzalez
Affiliate professor, Earth & Space Sciences
figonzal@uw.edu | 206-290-0903 | Web
Expertise: Earth motion and tsunami hazard; monitoring and prediction of tsunami risk. Former director of NOAA’s Seattle-based Center for Tsunami Research.

Brian Atwater
Affiliate professor, Earth & Space Sciences
atwater@uw.edu | 206-553-2927 | Web
Expertise: Tsunami hazards, especially from earthquakes; transoceanic tsunamis; historic tsunamis including the 1700 Cascadia earthquake.

Parker MacCready
Professor, Oceanography
pmacc@uw.edu | 206-685-9588 | Web
Expertise: Modeling and observation of coastal processes; pinpointing where and when tsunami debris might land on Washington’s shores.

Ian Miller
Coastal hazards specialist, Washington Sea Grant
immiller@uw.edu | 360-417-6460
Expertise: Based in Port Angeles. Helping coastal communities with issues including sea-level rise and tsunamis; studying historical data and current tsunami-related debris on Washington’s Olympic Peninsula.