UW Today

UW earthquake/volcano/tsunami experts

Seismic/geology issues

John Vidale
P
rofessor, Earth and space sciences
Cell: 310-210-2131
E-mail: vidale@uw.edu
Expertise: Director, Pacific Northwest Seismic Network; working in conjunction with California scientsts to develop an earthquake early warning system for the Pacific Northwest; damage to faults during earthquakes; earthquake swarms’; the rotation of Earth’s inner core; the correlation between earthquakes and ocean tides.

Stephen Malone
Professor emeritus, Earth and space sciences
Office: 206-685-3811
E-mail: steve@ess.washington.edu
Expertise: Seismicity of Cascade Mountain volcanoes; earthquake and volcanic hazards; former director, Pacific Northwest Seismic Network; helped to monitor and study the first major modern eruption of Mount St. Helens in 1980.

Craig Weaver
U.S. Geological Survey, based at UW
Office: 206-459-6457
E-mail: craig@ess.washington.edu
Expertise: Pacific Northwest coordinator for the USGS Earthquake Hazards Program; chief of the Pacific Northwest Earthquake Studies project; helped start the Puget Sound Lidar Consortium, working to collect high-resolution topography data from Washington state.

Kenneth Creager
Professor, Earth and space sciences
Office: 206-685-2803
E-mail: kcc@ess.washington.edu
Expertise: Slow slip and tremor; imaging discontinuities in Earth’s mantle; seismic imaging of subducting slabs; among lead investigators on the Imagine Magma Under St. Helens project.

Bill Steele, UW seismology lab coordinator – 206-685-5880, wsteele@uw.edu.

Joan Gomberg, U. S. Geological Survey, affiliate UW faculty – 206-616-5581, gomberg@usgs.gov.

 

 

Engineering issues

Steven Kramer
Professor, civil and environmental engineering
Office: 206-685-2642
E-mail: kramer@uw.edu
Expertise: Geotechnical engineering.

John Stanton
Professor, civil and environmental engineering
Office: 206-543-6057
E-mail: stanton@uw.edu
Expertise: Structural engineering.

Marc Eberhard
Professor, civil and environmental engineering
Office: 206-543-4815
E-mail: eberhard@uw.edu
Expertise: Structural engineering.

 

Tsunami Hazards

Jody Bourgeois
Professor, Earth and space sciences
Office: 206-685-2443
E-mail: jbourgeo@uw.edu
Expertise:

Brian Atwater
Affiliate professor, Earth and space sciences
Office: 206-553-2927
E-mail: atwater@uw.edu
Expertise: Tsunami hazards, particularly from great earthquakes; transoceanic tsunamis; historic tsunamis (Cascadia, 1700).

Craig Weaver
U.S. Geological Survey, based at UW
Office: 206-459-6457
E-mail: craig@ess.washington.edu
Expertise: Represents the USGS on the National Tsunami Hazard Mitigation Program and serves on the Federal-State Tsunami Work Group; co-author of the first national assessment of tsunami hazards for all American coasts.

Robert Freitag
Director, UW Institute for Hazard Mitigation Planning and Research, College of Built Environments
Office: 206-818-1175
E-mail: bfreitag@uw.edu
Expertise:

Kenneth Creager
Professor, Earth and space sciences
Office: 206-685-2803
E-mail: kcc@ess.washington.edu
Expertise: Among lead investigators on the Imagine Magma Under St. Helens project.

Parker MacCready
Professor, oceanography
Office: 206-685-9588
E-mail: pmacc@uw.edu
Expertise: Numerical modeling and observations of coastal processes; pinpointing where and when tsunami debris might land on Washington’s shores.

Ian Miller
Coastal hazards specialist, Olympic Peninsula, Washington Sea Grant
Office: 360-417-6460
E-Mail: immiller@u.washington.edu
Expertise: Helping coastal communities address and mitigate hazards including sea level rise and tsunamis; studying historical data about debris to examine the context of the debris expected to wash up from tsunamis.