Skip to content

Task force appointed to address AI

Across the UW, faculty, staff and students are discovering and exploring the potential of artificial intelligence to improve lives around the world in nearly every field of study and area of research – computer science, health care, social sciences, humanities, law, public policy, and much more. AI is being leveraged countless ways, from diagnosing and delivering targeted treatment to cancer patients, to analyzing past weather patterns to predict future events.

AI also has the power to enhance the effectiveness of the University’s teaching and operations by personalizing and accelerating pathways to the institution’s goals.

Developing an institutional strategy for artificial intelligence is no longer a choice; it’s an imperative for the University. The UW has a responsibility to lead in the conversation around AI – not only in potential applications but in their ethical and equitable use. It is about catalyzing our mission to preserve, advance and disseminate knowledge and preparing students for a future where AI will be an integral part of their professional and personal lives.

Task Force on Artificial Intelligence

Provost Tricia Serio and President Ana Mari Cauce have appointed a Task Force on Artificial Intelligence to address these issues and to suggest a UW-wide AI strategy. Chaired by Andreas Bohman, vice president of UW-IT and the University’s chief information officer, and Anind Dey, dean of the Information School, the task force will initially divide its work into five areas:

  • Research and Knowledge Creation/Transfer
  • Student Services
  • Teaching and Learning
  • Infrastructure
  • Administration

Other task force members:

  • Magda Balazinska, professor, Bill & Melinda Gates chair and director of the Paul G. Allen School of Computer Science & Engineering
  • Andrew Connolly, associate vice provost for data science and director of the UW eScience Institute
  • Yoshi Kohno, professor, Allen School of Computer Science & Engineering
  • François Baneyx, vice provost for innovation and director of CoMotion
  • Andy Harris, executive vice chancellor for academic affairs, UW Tacoma
  • Eric Neil, chief information officer, UW Medicine
  • Anne-Marie Gloster, associate teaching professor, Department of Epidemiology, and member of Faculty Senate’s Council on Teaching and Learning
  • Rickey Hall, University Diversity Officer

Ex-officio members:

  • Mary Gresch, senior vice president for University Advancement
  • Randy Hodgins, vice president, Office of External Affairs

Working groups for each area will provide awareness of current efforts across the University, identify and prioritize areas of opportunity, and suggest policy for emerging issues. Additional members will be added to each working group in the coming weeks.

Working group chairs:

  • Research and Knowledge Creation/Transfer: Mari Ostendorf, vice provost for research, and Luke Zettlemoyer, professor, Allen School of Computer Science & Engineering
  • Student Services: Denzil Suite, vice president for Student Life, and Michaelann Jundt, senior associate dean for Undergraduate Academic Affairs
  • Teaching and Learning: Pen Moon, director of the Center for Teaching and Learning, and Bill Howe, associate professor, Information School
  • Infrastructure: Bin Guo, associate vice president for infrastructure and chief technology officer, and Xiaosong Li, associate vice provost for research cyberinfrastructure
  • Administration: Mindy Kornberg, vice president for Human Resources, and Erin Guthrie, assistant vice provost for university analytics and institutional research