UW News

August 1, 2016

Twelve UW faculty elected to the Washington State Academy of Sciences

Photo by Katherine Turner.

Photo by Katherine Turner.

A dozen scientists and engineers from the University of Washington have been elected to the Washington State Academy of Sciences. According to a statement released by the organization, the new members were selected for “their outstanding record of scientific achievement and willingness to work on behalf of the academy in bringing the best available science to bear on issues within the state of Washington.”

Three of the new members from UW were chosen because they had been elected recently to one of the National Academies — the National Academy of Sciences, the National Academy of Engineering and the National Academy of Medicine. The other nine were elected by current members.

In all, UW faculty make up half of the 24 new members, who will be formally inducted in September during an annual meeting at the Museum of Flight in Seattle.

Elected through recent admission to a National Academy:

Thomas Anderson: professor of computer science and engineering, elected to the National Academy of Engineering

Dennis Hartmann: professor of atmospheric sciences, elected to the National Academy of Sciences

Bonnie Ramsey: professor of pediatrics, director of the Center for Clinical and Translational Research and associate director of the Pediatric Clinical Research Center at Seattle Children’s, elected to the National Academy of Medicine

Elected by current members of the Washington State Academy of Sciences:  

François Baneyx: professor and chair of chemical engineering, adjunct professor of bioengineering

Katherine Beckett: professor of sociology

Elizabeth Buffalo: associate professor of physiology and biophysics

John Delaney: professor of oceanography

Cynthia Dougherty: professor of nursing, adjunct professor of medicine

Jerry Franklin: professor of environmental and forest sciences

Cecilia Giachelli: professor and chair of bioengineering

Rachel Klevit: professor of biochemistry, professor of chemistry

Daniel Schwartz: professor of chemical engineering, director of the Clean Energy Institute, adjunct professor of materials science and engineering

Incorporated by legislation in 2007, the Washington State Academy of Sciences initially had just 105 members. With this new crop of members from UW and other institutions around the state, the academy’s total membership will rise to 264. The academy’s mission is “to provide expert scientific and engineering analysis to inform public policymaking in Washington, and to increase the role and visibility of science in the state.”


For more information, contact James Urton in the UW Office of News & Information at 206-543-2580 or jurton@uw.edu.