UW Today

May 3, 2016

Dennis L. Hartmann elected to National Academy of Sciences

News and Information

Dennis L. Hartmann, a University of Washington professor of atmospheric sciences, is among 84 new members and 21 foreign associates elected as fellows of the National Academy of Sciences. They were chosen in recognition of their distinguished and continuing achievements in original research, according to a May 3 news release from the academy.

Dennis L. Hartmann

Dennis L. Hartmann

Hartmann joined the UW faculty in 1977 after earning his bachelor’s in mechanical engineering from the University of Portland and his doctorate in geophysical fluid dynamics from Princeton University. His research looks at the atmosphere’s role in climate variability and change, and how the atmosphere interacts with the ocean in a changing climate. He has authored a climate science textbook and nearly 200 research papers, and is former chair of the UW Department of Atmospheric Sciences.

Hartmann has lectured since the early 1980s about the physics of greenhouse gases and climate change. In 2013, he was a coordinating lead author of the most recent international assessment of climate science, in which he helped review the evidence for global warming. Hartmann was previously elected as a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, the American Geophysical Union and the American Meteorological Society. Other honors include the NASA Distinguished Public Service Medal and the Carl-Gustaf Rossby Research Medal from the American Meteorological Society.

Newly elected scientists bring the total number of active academy members to 2,291 and the total number of foreign associates to 465.