UW News

June 28, 2016

UW geologist wins early career award from American Geophysical Union

UW News

A University of Washington geologist has received the American Geophysical Union’s early-career award for researchers in the Earth and space sciences. She is also one of three UW scientists selected to give named lectures at the union’s upcoming annual fall meeting.


Alison Duvall

Alison Duvall, a UW assistant professor of Earth and space sciences, was selected for the Luna B. Leopold Award for early career scientists. The award recognizes scientists within five years of receiving their doctorate who have made “a significant and outstanding contribution that advances the field of Earth and planetary surface processes.”

The honor is named after Luna Leopold, an American geomorphologist and hydrologist and son of author and conservationist Aldo Leopold. Duvall will accept the honor and deliver the Robert Sharp Lecture in December at the union’s annual fall meeting in San Francisco.

Duvall earned her doctorate at the University of Michigan in 2011 and completed a postdoctoral fellowship at the University of Colorado before joining the UW faculty in 2012. She led a recent study that used a new technique to establish the long-term history of landslides around the site of the deadly March 2014 landslide in Oso, Washington.

In the nomination package, UW professor David Montgomery wrote to support Duvall for her “contributions to fluvial, hillslope, and tectonic geomorphology that have fundamentally advanced understanding of landscape dynamics across a wide range of scales.”

At the same fall meeting of the American Geophysical Union, two other UW faculty members will also deliver invited talks. Virginia (Ginger) Armbrust, professor and director of the UW School of Oceanography, will deliver the Rachel Carson Lecture in the Ocean Sciences section. David Battisti, a UW professor of atmospheric sciences, will deliver the Stephen Schneider Memorial Lecture in the focus group on Global Environmental Change.

All three lectures will be streamed live online in December and will be recorded for later viewing. See a full list of awardees on the American Geophysical Union’s website.