Department of Comparative Medicine

News and Events

The Barbara J. Deeb Lecture

The Barbara Deeb Lecture in Comparative Medicine was established in 2006 by Dr. Samir Deeb and the Department of Comparative Medicine. This lectureship honors Barbara’s scientific contributions in the field of Comparative Medicine and to the specialty veterinary practice of small mammals.  Dr. Deeb made significant contributions in the area of pathogenic infections of animals, particularly, rodents and rabbits. She contributed several book chapters on diseases of rabbits. Dr. Deeb had a strong interest in the human-animal bond and animal welfare, which she expressed through her activities with the Delta Society. Barbara died from cancer May 9, 2005.

In establishing this lectureship, the Deeb Family and the Department of Comparative Medicine envisioned that the lecturer be chosen on the basis of having made significant contributions and important advances in biomedical research through the use of animals.




Past lectures:

2006 Deeb Lecture – May 11, 2006, 1:30-2:30 pm, HSB T-747
Jerrold Ward, DVM, PhD – Chief, Infectious Disease Pathogenesis Section, Comparative Medicine Branch, NIAID, NIH.

2007 Deeb Lecture – October 29, 2007, 12:00-1:00 pm, HSB D-209
Richard Palmiter, PhD – Investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute & Professor, Biochemistry at the University of Washington.

2008 Deeb Lecture – Thursday, May 29, 2008, 12:00-1:00 pm, HSB D-209
Tilahun Yilma, DVM, PhD – Director & Distinguished Professor of Virology, International Laboratory of Molecular Biology, University of California, Davis.

2010 Deeb Lecture – Monday, March 29, 2010, 12:00-1:00 pm, HSB T-733
Peter C. Doherty, BVSc, MVSc, PhD – Nobel Laureate Professor, Department of Microbiology and Immunology, The University of Melbourne. Recipient of the 1996 Nobel Prize in Physiology and Medicine

2011 Deeb Lecture – Monday, April 18, 2011, 3:30-4:30 pm, HSB D-209
Christopher C. Goodnow, BVSc, PhD, FAA – Director, Australian Phenomics Facility and Director, Immunogenomics Laboratory, Professor, John Curtin School of Medical Research.

2012 Deeb Lecture –Friday, October 5, 2012, 11:00 am – 12:00 noon, HSB T-639
Michael Oldstone, MD – Professor, Department of Immunology and Microbial Science, The Scripps Research Institute, La Jolla, CA.

2013 Deeb Lecture –Wednesday, December 4, 2013, 4:00-5:00 pm, SLU Orin Auditorium
Ronald M. Evans, PhD – Professor and Director, Gene Expression Laboratory, HHMI Investigator, March of Dimes Chair in Molecular and Developmental Biology, The Salk Institute for Biological Studies La Jolla, CA.

2014 Deeb Lecture – Tuesday, July 15, 2014, 4:30-5:30 pm, SLU Orin Auditorium
Bruce Beutler, MD, Regental Professor and Director, Center for Genetics of Host Defense, UT Southwestern Medical Center; Recipient of 2011 Nobel Prize in Physiology and Medicine.

2016 Deeb Lecture – Wednesday, July 27, 2016, 3:30-4:30 pm, SLU Orin Auditorium
Diane Mathis, PhD
, Professor of Microbiology and Immunology, Harvard Medical School; Morton Grove Chair of Immunohematology, Division of Immunology, Department of Microbiology & Immunobiology, Harvard Medical School, Boston,

2017 Deeb Lecture – Thursday, June 15, 2017, 3:30-4:30 pm, HSB T-639
Lora Hooper, PhD, Professor and Chair, Department of Immunology, Southwestern Medical Center, University of Texas-Dallas.

2018 Deeb Lecture – Thursday, Oct 5th, 2018, 3:30-4:30 pm, HSB T-639
Daniel R. Littman, MD, PhD, Helen L. and Martin S. Kimmel Professor of Molecular Immunology, Departments of Pathology and Microbiology, School of Medicine, New York University.