Skip to content

Advisory committee

The advisory committee is tasked with supporting the university in building on its commitment to fight racism and inequities that are prevalent in our system. The committee uses the goals of the Diversity Blueprint as a guidepost for their work.

Anti-racism is everyone’s work

In the year 2020, the killing of George Floyd grabbed the attention of the nation. This horrific event led people from a diversity of ages, backgrounds and experiences to demand that institutions across the country work to acknowledge and eradicate their anti-Black racism and to create spaces and communities that are truly inclusive. As time progresses, we must ensure that our anti-racist work does not diminish.

Committee co-chairs

Rickey Hall

Vice President for Minority Affairs and University Diversity Officer

Ed Taylor

Vice Provost and Dean, Undergraduate Academic Affairs

Committee members

  • Chadwick Allen, Associate Vice Provost for Faculty Advancement and Professor, English
  • Wendy Barrington, Associate Professor, Psychosocial and Community Health, School of Nursing
  • Glenna Chang, Associate Vice President for Student Life
  • Jodene Davis, Strategy and Operations Director, Center for Experiential Learning & Diversity
  • Mary Gresch, Senior Vice President, Advancement
  • Jeanette James, Senior Director, Strategy & Planning, OMA&D
  • Chris Laws, Teaching Professor, Astronomy and Chair, Faculty Senate for Planning & Budgeting
  • Leilani Lewis, Director of Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion, UW Advancement
  • Elavie Ndura, Vice Chancellor for Equity and Inclusion and Professor, UW Tacoma
  • Andrea Salazar-Nuñez, Education & Training Manager, OMA&D
  • Ujima Sands, Assistant Vice President, Human Resources
  • Adiam Tesfay, Director, Disability Resources for Students
  • Caroline Titan, Assistant Vice Chancellor of Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion, UW Bothell
  • Thomas Tumbokon, Director of Campus Partnerships, ASUW Bothell
  • Joy Williamson-Lott, Dean, Graduate School and Professor, College of Education
  • Joyce Yen, Director, UW ADVANCE, Office of Academic Personnel
  • TBA Representative, ASUW Seattle
  • TBA Representative, ASUW Tacoma
  • TBA Representative, GPSS