UW News

April 17, 2014

2014 Awards of Excellence recipients announced

News and Information

The University of Washington has announced this year’s Awards of Excellence recipients being recognized for achievements in teaching, mentoring, public service and staff support.

The winners will be honored 3:30-4:30 p.m. June 12 at a ceremony in Meany Hall for the campus and general public.

Distinguished Staff Award
Leo Campa, dietary unit clerk, food and nutrition services
Bahelebi Medhane, custodian, building services, Health Sciences
Kojay Pan, administrator, civil and environmental engineering
LeAnne Jones Wiles, associate director, first year programs
Bryan Cunitz, Barbrina Dunmire, Marla Paun, Frank Starr and Yak-Nam Wang, Center for Industrial and Medical Ultrasound, Applied Physics Laboratory

Medal with UW seal and writingDavid B. Thorud Leadership Award
Faculty award: Pamela Mitchell, professor, behavioral nursing and health systems
Staff award: Edward Dwyer-O’Connor, senior manager, Pioneer Square Clinic, UW Medicine-Harborview Medical Center downtown programs

Distinguished Librarian Award
Janet Schnall, information management librarian, Health Sciences

Alumni Association Distinguished Service Award
Jon Bridgman, professor emeritus, history

Distinguished Retiree Excellence in Community Service Award
Richard Morrill, professor emeritus, geography

Distinguished Teaching Award
Lance Forshay, senior lecturer and director, American Sign Language minor studies program, linguistics
Karen Fredriksen-Goldsen, professor, social work
Moon-Ho Jung, associate professor, history
Matt McGarrity, senior lecturer, communication
Elizabeth Porter, assistant professor, law
Benjamin Gardner, assistant professor, interdisciplinary arts and sciences, UW Bothell
Donald Chinn, associate professor, technology/computing and software systems, UW Tacoma

Distinguished Teaching Award for Innovation with Technology
Margaret O’Mara, associate professor, history

Excellence in Teaching Award
Miles Coleman, graduate student, communication
Jennifer LeMesurier, graduate student, English

Distinguished Contributions to Lifelong Learning Award
Kuen Lin, professor, aeronautics and astronautics

S. Sterling Munro Public Service Teaching Award
Thomas Halverson, senior lecturer, education

University Faculty Lecture Award
Lillian McDermott, professor, physics

Marsha L. Landolt Distinguished Graduate Mentor Award
Gaetano Borriello, professor, computer science and engineering

Outstanding Public Service Award
Angelina Snodgrass Godoy, associate professor, law, society and justice

Alumnus Summa Laude Dignatus
Arthur Levinson, chairman of the board, Genentech, ‘72

President’s Medalists
To be announced in mid-May

Distinguished Alumni Veteran Award
Charles Matthaei, ’43 (awarded posthumously)