Office of the Provost

2018 Outstanding Public Service Award nominations

Deadline: Monday, February 5, 2018

Do you know of a faculty or staff member who has made exemplary contributions to the common good through public service? If so, we urge you to nominate him or her for the University’s 2018 Outstanding Public Service Award.

This award, initiated in 1980, recognizes faculty and staff efforts to improve the quality of people’s lives locally, nationally, or internationally. It is presented at the University’s annual Recognition Ceremony in June and includes a $5,000 award. The selection committee, composed of faculty and staff, considers the nature and extent of the public service activity, the amount of time and effort involved, and the lasting impact it has had. The basis for the nomination may be social, cultural, civic, education-related, or health-related achievements for work performed without compensation. It may be uncompensated consulting work within one’s area of expertise, or volunteer work in other areas. Considerations include whether the work benefits large numbers of people, or significantly influences the welfare of a few, or influences major issues.

Nominations for the award may be made by faculty or staff, or by a member of an organization that has benefited from the public service activity. Please include a maximum of three nominating letters that should not exceed two single-spaced typed pages. The letters should include the following:

  • a description of the nature, extent, and impact of the service
  • the period in which the activity occurred and a description of the effort involved
  • whether the nominee received compensation for the activity

Nominations and a maximum of three additional two-page letters supporting the nomination must be received by Monday, February 5, 2018. Please submit your nomination and accompanying letters of support via email attachment in a single document as an Adobe PDF to:

Public service is an important way that our faculty and staff influence the community around us and help our University be the exemplary institution that it is.

Please take the time to nominate your colleagues who inspires us all.

Past Outstanding Public Service Award recipients

  • 2017, Helen Teresa “Trez” Buckland, Clinical Assistant Professor, School of Nursing
  • 2016, Augustine McCaffery, Senior Administrative Specialist, Graduate School, Academic Affairs and Planning
  • 2014, Angelina Snodgrass Godoy, Professor, Jackson School of International Studies and Law, Societies, & Justice Program, College of Arts & Sciences
  • 2013, Katherine Beckett, Professor, Sociology, College of Arts & Sciences
  • 2012, Jacqueline McMurtrie, Associate Professor, School of Law
  • 2011, Tracy Harachi, Associate Professor, School of Social Work
  • 2010, Terrie Klinger, Associate Professor, School of Marine Affairs
  • 2009, Richard Ladner, Professor, Computer Science and Engineering
  • 2008, Nancy Amidei, Senior Lecturer, Social Work
  • 2007, Erasmo Gamboa, Associate Professor, American Ethnic Studies
  • 2006, Sinclair Yee, Professor, Electrical Engineering
  • 2005, Bruce Psaty, Professor, Medicine and Epidemiology
  • 2004, Millie Russell, Assistant to the Vice President, Minority Affairs
  • 2003, Dena Brownstein, Associate Professor, Department of Pediatrics
  • 2002, Anita Ramasastry, Professor, School of Law
  • 2001, Charles Mock, Assistant Professor, Department of Surgery
  • 2000, Eugene Edgar, Professor, College of Education
  • 1999, Albert Black, Senior Lecturer, Department of Sociology
  • 1998, Edward D. Lazowska, Professor, Computer Science and Engineering
  • 1997, Ann Streissguth, Professor, Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences
  • 1996, Diana Wilke, School of Nursing, Physiological Nursing
  • 1995, Peter Domoto, School of Dentistry
  • 1994, Philip Bereano, Professor, Technical Communications, Adjunct Professor, Women Studies and American Ethnic Studies
  • 1993, Hubert Locke, Professor, Graduate School of Public Affairs
  • 1992, Robert W. Deisher, Professor Emeritus, Pediatrics, School of Medicine
  • 1991, Betty Jane Narver, Director, Institute for Public Policy and Management; Graduate School of Public Affairs
  • 1990, Roy Prosterman, Professor, School of Law
  • 1989, Abraham B. Bergman, Director, Department of Pediatrics, Harborview Medical Center
  • 1988, Marci Catanzaro, Assistant Professor, Physiological Nursing
  • 1987, W.T. Edmundson, Professor Emeritus, Zoology
  • 1986, Robert Aldrich, Pediatrics
  • 1985, Victor Steinbrueck, Professor Emeritus, Architecture (Awarded Posthumously)
  • 1984, Brewster C. Denny, Professor of Graduate School of Public Affairs
  • 1983, Solomon Katz, University Historian and Professor Emeritus of History
  • 1982, Joseph A. Witt, Research Associate Professor, Center for Urban Horticulture
  • 1981, Michael K. Copass, Associate Professor of Medicine- Nephrology
  • 1980, Howard Nostrand, Professor of Romance Languages