UW News

February 6, 2024

Nancy Allbritton elected to National Academy of Engineering

Nancy Allbritton, the dean of the University of Washington College of Engineering and a UW professor of bioengineering, has been elected to the National Academy of Engineering, the academy announced Feb. 6.

Nancy Allbritton headshot

Nancy AllbrittonUniversity of Washington

Allbritton was selected “for innovation and commercialization of single-cell, analytical, and gut-on-chip technologies for drug screening and for engineering education.”

Drawing from the fields of engineering, chemistry, physics and materials science, Allbritton’s research develops technologies and platforms for biomedical research and clinical care, including the study and analysis of single cells for the treatment of a variety of diseases such as cancer, macular degeneration and HIV. She is an international expert on multiplexed single-cell assays, microfabricated platforms for high-content cytometry combined with cell sorting, and microengineered stem-cell-based systems for recapitulating human organ-level function.

Her work has resulted in over 250 full-length journal publications and patents and led to 15 commercial products. In addition, five companies have been formed based on her research discoveries: Protein Simple (acquired by Bio-Techne in 2014), Intellego, Cell Microsystems, Altis Biosystems and Piccolo Biosystems. She has been nationally recognized for her research and is a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, the American Institute for Medical & Biological Engineering, the National Academy of Inventors and the Washington State Academy of Sciences.

As the Frank & Julie Jungers Dean of the College of Engineering, Allbritton is committed to engineering excellence for the public good by fostering high-impact, interdisciplinary research and technology translation and building an inclusive community of faculty, staff and students. She has received numerous awards for her leadership, including the BMES Robert A. Pritzker Award and the Edward Kidder Graham Award for Leadership and Service.

Allbritton is among 114 new members across the U.S. who are honored for contributions to “engineering research, practice or education, including, where appropriate, significant contributions to the engineering literature” and for contributions to “the pioneering of new and developing fields of technology, making major advancements in traditional fields of engineering, or developing/implementing innovative approaches to engineering education.”

Jill Seebergh, principal senior technical fellow at Boeing, has also been elected to the academy. Seebergh is a UW affiliate professor of chemical engineering.