Skip to content

IT Accessibility Task Force

The IT Accessibility Task Force was founded in 2012 and charged by the UW Vice President and CIO, UW- IT and Vice President, Office of External Affairs to develop and implement plans for promoting IT accessibility and establishing best practices campus-wide. It continues to meet monthly to:

  • Continue taking steps toward more accessible UW websites and other IT and institutionalizing cooperative relationships between key stakeholder groups.
  • Develop strategies that can be applied campus-wide, such as accessibility audits, progress reports, and the availability of tools to facilitate accessibility efforts.
  • Recommend steps toward a more coordinated campus-wide effort in promoting the design of accessible websites and other IT.

It submits annual reports of progress and recommendations to project sponsors.

Following is a list of current Task Force members, organized by unit.


  • Sheryl Burgstahler, Director, Accessible Technology Services (ATS) (chair)
  • Terrill Thompson, Manager, IT Accessibility Team, ATS
  • Dan Comden, Access Technology Center Manager, ATS
  • Hadi Rangin, IT Accessibility Specialist, ATS
  • Nick Rohde, Web and Content Developer

Center of Teaching and Learning

  • Mihaela Giurca, Instructional Consultant

Compliance Services

  • Bree Callahan,¬†ADA Coordinator

Continuum College

  • Krissy Jones, Director of Instructional Design and Development


  • Katie Lewis, Associate Professor, College of Education

Human Resources

  • Ian Campbell, Manager, Disability Services Office

Procurement Services

  • Lynn Magill, Program Operations Specialist

Student Services

  • Jack Nguyen, Assistant Director, Disability Resources for Students

University Marketing and Communications

  • Thomas Winston Thorpe, Director, Web Strategy

UW Libraries

  • Andy Andrews, Accessibility Coordinator

UW Privacy Office

  • Aimee Kelly, Program Operations Specialist


  • Ana Thompson, CPACC, Learning & Access Designer, Office of Digital Learning & Innovation


  • Patrick Pow, Vice Chancellor, Information Technology