Skip to content

2018-2019 Climate Study Working Group Members (Inactive)

The Climate Study Working Group was charged with conducting the University of Washington’s climate survey in conjunction with external consultant Rankin & Associates Consulting. Comprising 30 UW students, faculty and staff representing all three campuses, the working group is responsible for guiding the development of survey questions, as well as the interpretation of the survey and its results.


  • Jeanette James, Director of Strategy, Office of Minority Affairs & Diversity
  • Jason Johnson, Senior Associate Dean, Undergraduate Academic Affairs


  • Vanessa I. Alvarez, Interim Director, Graduate Opportunities and Minority Achievement Program (GO-MAP), UW Graduate School
  • Wayne Au, Professor of Educational Studies and Dean of Diversity & Equity, UW Bothell
  • Djelli Berisha, Representative, ASUW Bothell
  • Giuliana Conti, President, Graduate and Professional Student Senate
  • Butch de Castro, Professor and Associate Dean for Diversity, Equity and Inclusion, School of Nursing
  • Ujima Donalson, Assistant Vice President and Provost, Human Resources
  • Rodan Dulay, EOAA Compliance Manager, Office of Academic Personnel
  • Amy Gabriel, Secretary, Graduate & Professional Student Senate (GPSS)
  • David Goldstein, Principal Lecturer, School of Interdisciplinary Arts & Sciences, UW Bothell; Member, Faculty Council for Teaching and Learning
  • Marian Harris, Professor, Social Work and Criminal Justice, UW Tacoma
  • Douglass Jackson, Clinical Professor, School of Dentistry
  • Ritika Jain, President, ASUW Seattle
  • Sierra-Leone Jones, Education Senator, ASUW Tacoma
  • Jack Martin, Assistant Vice President for Communications, University Marketing & Communications
  • Felipe Martinez, Executive Director, CIRCLE, Division of Student Life
  • Meg Matthews, Associate Director for Strategic Communications, University Marketing & Communications
  • James McShay, Assistant Chancellor for Equity & Inclusion, UW Tacoma
  • Leo Morales, Professor and Chief Diversity Officer, School of Medicine
  • Favour Orji, Director of Diversity Efforts, ASUW Seattle
  • Erin Rice, Assistant Vice President, Human Resources
  • Terryl Ross, Assistant Dean, College of the Environment
  • Erin Rowley, Director for Communications, Office of Minority Affairs & Diversity
  • Victoria Tyron, Representative, OMA&D Student Advisory Board
  • Elizabeth Umphress, Associate Professor, Foster School of Business; Chair, Faculty Council on Women in Academia
  • Marie Westermeier, Director of Personnel Guidance, School of Medicine
  • Brenda Williams, Senior Lecturer, School of Law; Chair, Faculty Council on Multicultural Affairs
  • Joyce Yen, Director, UW ADVANCE, College of Engineering