UW News

February 19, 2019

University of Washington is a top producer of Fulbright recipients

Fifteen graduate and undergraduate students from the University of Washington were awarded Fulbright grants for 2018-2019 — among the leading research schools in the country and more than any other institution in the state. A list was published earlier this month in The Chronicle of Higher Education.

The Fulbright Program is the United States government’s flagship international educational exchange program.

Since its inception in 1946, the Fulbright Program has provided more than 380,000 participants — chosen for their academic merit and leadership potential — with the opportunity to exchange ideas and contribute to finding solutions to shared international concerns. The Fulbright U.S. Scholar Program operates in over 125 countries throughout the world.

The Fulbright U.S. Student Program application process is supported by the Office of Merit Scholarships, Fellowships and Awards (OMSFA), an Undergraduate Academic Affairs program. OMSFA collaborates closely with the Graduate School’s Office of Fellowships & AwardsUW Bothell’s Global Initiatives and UW Tacoma’s Office of Global Affairs in supporting Fulbright applicants at all three campuses. OMSFA also works with faculty, staff and students to identify and support promising students in developing the skills and personal insights necessary to become strong candidates for this and other prestigious awards.

UW Fulbright awardees:

  • Allison Anderson, Ph.D. student, international studies (Jordan)
  • Victoria Buschman, Ph.D. student, environmental and forestry sciences (Iceland)
  • Katia Chaterji, Ph.D. student, history (Indonesia)
  • Corbett Costello, Ph.D. student, Asian languages and literature (India)
  • Madison Heslop, Ph.D. student, history (Canada)
  • Rachel Rothenberg, Ph.D. student, international studies (India)
  • Samantha Farquhar, master’s student, marine and environmental affairs (Madagascar)
  • Divya Patil, master’s graduate, epidemiology (India)
  • Maxine Savage, master’s student, Scandinavian studies (Iceland)
  • Lauren Wiesebron, master’s graduate, aquatic and fishery sciences (Chile)
  • Jake Hansen, ’18, Major: Russian language, literature and culture (Russia)
  • Yesenia Navarro-Aguirre, ’17, Major: human evolutionary biology; anthropology of globalization (Peru)
  • Philip Palios, ’18, Major: culture, literature and the arts (UW Bothell) (UK)
  • Caleb Perez, ’18, Major: bioengineering (Switzerland)
  • Tammy Tarhini, ’17, Major: human evolutionary biology; Anthropology of Globalization (Germany)

For more information about the Fulbright Program, visit http://eca.state.gov/fulbright