UW News

August 3, 2011

Five UW professors named Fellows of American Chemical Society

Five UW professors are among 213 scientists named Fellows of the American Chemical Society. The honor is bestowed upon distinguished scientists who have demonstrated outstanding accomplishments in chemistry and made important contributions to ACS, the world’s largest scientific society.

The five UW professors named:

Thomas A. Baillie is dean and professor of medicinal chemistry in the UW School of Pharmacy. Baillie was a professor of medicinal chemistry at the UW from 1981 to 1994, and went on to spend 15 years at Merck & Co. Inc., where he held multiple leadership positions. He rejoined the UW in 2008. He earned his doctorate from the University of Glasgow. Baillie’s research interests lie in the application of mass spectrometry and associated techniques to mechanistic studies in the fields of foreign compound metabolism and chemical toxicology.

Charles Campbell holds the Lloyd E. and Florence M.West Endowed Professorship in Chemistry, and is co-director of the PNNL/UW Joint Institute for Nanoscience. He is a former director of the UW Center for Nanotechnology. Campbell earned his doctorate from the University of Texas, Austin in 1979 and joined the UW in 1989. His research group, according to its website, “pursues basic experimental research concerning environmental and energy-related catalysis, interfaces in solar cells and microelectronics, and array-based biochemical analyses.”

Alex K-Y Jen is professor and Boeing-Johnson Chair of the Department of Materials Science and Engineering, and director of the UW Institute of Advanced Materials Science & Technology. Jen earned his doctorate from the University of Pennsylvania in 1984 and joined the UW in 1999. His research group, according to its website, “utilizes molecular, polymeric, and biomacromolecular self-assembly to create ordered arrangement of organic and inorganic functional materials for photonics, opto-electronics, nanomedicine, and nanotechnology.”

James Mayer holds the Alvin L. and Verla R. Kwiram Endowed Professorship of Chemistry. Mayer earned his doctorate from the California Institute of Technology in 1982 and joined the UW in 1984. His research group, according to its website, explores “the fundamental science behind the interconversion of electrical and chemical energies, the catalysis of the production and utilization of chemical fuels.”


Buddy Ratner holds the Michael L. and Myrna Darland Endowed Chair in Technology Commercialization and is director of UW Engineered Biomaterials (UWEB). He earned his doctorate in 1972 from the Polytechnic Institute of Brooklyn and joined the UW the same year. His research work, according to his website, involves the engineering of biomaterials for medical implants “to control biological interactions, synthesized, characterized and observed during interaction with biological systems.” He was chosen as the University Faculty Lecturer in 2010.

The 2011 Fellows will be recognized at an induction ceremony on Aug. 29 during the societys national meeting and exposition in Denver.