UW News

April 29, 2010

John T. Slattery is chair-elect of Pharmaceutical Sciences section of the American Association for the Advancement of Science

Dr. John T. Slattery, vice dean for research and graduate education in the School of Medicine, has been selected chair-elect of the pharmaceutical sciences section of the American Association for the Advancement of Science. He was selected at this year’s annual meeting this past February in San Diego. He will become chair of the section at the association’s annual meeting, Feb. 17-21, 2011, in Washington, DC.

Slattery has been in his current position at the UW School of Medicine since October 2005. Prior to that he was the associate vice president for academic affairs and dean of the Graduate School at the University of Indiana. He was also a professor of medicine, biology, pharmacology and toxicology, in addition to his administrative position.

Before moving to Indiana in 2003, Slattery was a professor of pharmaceutics in the UW School of Pharmacy and a member of the Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center, in addition to his role in the Graduate School. From 1997 to 2002, he directed the UW’s Office of Scholarly Integrity. He was a member of numerous university-wide committees and chaired the Animal Care Committee in 1985-86.

Slattery came to the UW in 1978 as an assistant professor of pharmaceutics. From 1982 until 2002, he also held an adjunct appointment in the School of Medicine’s Department of Anesthesiology.

He earned a bachelor’s degree in pharmacy from the University of Texas at Austin and his doctoral degree in pharmaceutics from the State University of New York at Buffalo. He is a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science and of the American Association of Pharmaceutical Scientists.

The American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) is an international non-profit organization dedicated to advancing science around the world by serving as an educator, leader, spokesperson and professional association. AAAS publishes the journal Science.